• My Scores
  • NFL
  • NBA
  • NHL
  • MLB

Three Orioles, three Royals headline 2013 Gold Glove winners

By Mike Axisa | Baseball Writer

Andrelton Simmons headlines the crop of first time Gold Glove winners.
Andrelton Simmons headlines the crop of first-time Gold Glove winners. (USATSI)

More: Gold Glove Finalists | Fielding Bible Awards

The first notable awards of the 2013 season were handed out on Tuesday night as the Gold Glove winners in each league were announced. The process added a statistical component for the first time this year, so the league's best defenders are no longer determined exclusively by managers and coaches around the league. Adding that subjective element figures to result in fewer head-scratching picks.

Here are this year's Gold Glove winners, otherwise known as the players deemed the best defenders at their respective positions. Eight players won the first Gold Glove of their careers. Career totals are in parenthesis.

American League

C -- Salvador Perez, Royals (1)
1B -- Eric Hosmer, Royals (1)
2B -- Dustin Pedroia, Red Sox (3)
SS -- J.J. Hardy, Orioles (2)
3B -- Manny Machado, Orioles (1)
LF -- Alex Gordon, Royals (3)
CF -- Adam Jones, Orioles (3)
RF -- Shane Victorino, Red Sox (4)
P -- R.A. Dickey, Blue Jays (1)

National League

C -- Yadier Molina, Cardinals (6)
1B -- Paul Goldschmidt, Diamondbacks (1)
2B -- Brandon Phillips, Reds (4)
SS -- Andrelton Simmons, Braves (1)
3B -- Nolan Arenado, Rockies (1)
LF -- Carlos Gonzalez, Rockies (3)
CF -- Carlos Gomez, Brewers (1)
RF -- Gerardo Parra, Diamondbacks (2)
P -- Adam Wainwright, Cardinals (2)

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

mlb Video

March 5, 2015
Seattle Mariners 2015 season preview (1:57)
March 5, 2015
Hunter Pence out 6-8 weeks
March 5, 2015
The future of Jeff Samardzija
March 5, 2015
Cashman: 'That captaincy should be retired with #2'


Most Popular

CBSSports.com Shop