Andrelton Simmons, Manny Machado win Platinum Gloves

By Matt Snyder | Baseball Writer

Andrelton Simmons was rightfully the NL winner of the Platinum Glove.
Andrelton Simmons was rightfully the NL winner of the Platinum Glove. (USATSI)

More: Gold Glove winners | Gold Glove Finalists | Fielding Bible Awards

No longer content to stop with Gold Gloves, Rawlings takes the nine Gold Glove winners in each league and holds fan voting -- in conjunction with SABR (the Society for American Baseball Research) -- to determine the subjective top defensive player in each league. The winner is given the Platinum Glove for the season.

The NL winner is Braves shortstop Andrelton Simmons.

The AL winner: Orioles third baseman Manny Machado.

On Simmons, anyone else would have been a mistake. He was the best defensive player in baseball in 2013. He set a record for defensive runs saved in a season, though it's only been measured for the past 10 years. On, Simmons tied Terry Turner (1906) for the highest single-season defensive WAR (5.4) in baseball history. For comparison's sake at short, Ozzie Smith's highest mark ever was 4.7.

Over on, Simmons' Ultimate Zone Rating (UZR) was second only to ... Machado.

Machado's 31.2 mark actually dwarfed Simmons' 24.6 UZR. Machado trailed only Simmons, Carlos Gomez and Gerardo Parra in defensive runs saved, so he's obviously a fine choice as well.

And if you don't like advanced metrics, you're left with basically just the eye test -- because you can't judge range on errors/fielding percentage.

So here you go:

And here you go:

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

mlb Video

November 29, 2015
November 25, 2015
MLB news roundup: 11/25
November 24, 2015
Mays, Berra receive Medal of Freedom
November 24, 2015
MLB Offseason: Thanksgiving Week


Most Popular