• My Scores
  • NFL
  • MLB
  • Golf

Dodgers' Clayton Kershaw wins 2013 NL Cy Young Award

By Mike Axisa | Baseball Writer

Once again, Clayton Kershaw is your NL Cy Young winner.
Once again, Clayton Kershaw is your NL Cy Young winner. (USATSI)

MORE: EOB picks Kershaw for NL Cy Young Award

For the second time in the last three years, Dodgers left-hander Clayton Kershaw has been named the NL Cy Young Award winner. He received 29 of 30 first place votes and beat out second place Adam Wainwright and third place Jose Fernandez.

Kershaw, 25, went 16-9 with a 1.83 ERA (194 ERA+) in 33 starts this past season. He led all of baseball in ERA, ERA+, WHIP (0.92) and WAR (7.8) while leading the NL in strikeouts (232). Kershaw also led all pitchers with 10 starts of at least seven shutout innings. The southpaw has clearly established himself as the best pitcher in the world right now.

Kershaw won the Cy Young back in 2011 and finished second in the voting in 2012. He joins Don Newcombe (1956), Don Drysdale (1962), Sandy Koufax (1963, 1965-66), Mike Marshall (1974), Fernando Valenzuela (1984), Orel Hershiser (1988) and Eric Gagne (2003) as pitchers to win the award while wearing Dodgers blue.

Wainwright received the other first place vote. Matt Harvey and Craig Kimbrel also appeared on some ballots. The full voting results are available at the Baseball Writers Association of America website.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

mlb Video

August 4, 2015
Dave Dombrowski out as Tigers GM (1:36)
August 4, 2015
MLB Top 10: Best players after 100 games
August 4, 2015
Stan Kasten talks Dodgers
August 4, 2015
Will Mets win NL east?


Most Popular

CBSSports.com Shop

Men's Nike Charcoal Denver Broncos Training Camp Performance T-Shirt

NFL Training Camp Gear
Get your favorite team
Shop Now