Play Fantasy Use your Fantasy skills to win Cash Prizes. Join or start a league today. Play Now
  • My Scores
  • MLB
  • Golf
  • NFL
  • NCAA FB
  • Tennis

A's-Indians game becomes first rainout in Oakland since 1998

By Matt Snyder | Baseball Writer

More MLB: Scoreboard | Standings | Probable Pitchers | Sortable Stats | Odds

The Cleveland Indians and Oakland Athletics were set to square off in the second game of their season-opening three-game series Tuesday night, but Mother Nature has intervened. The game has been called on account of rain.

Normally, April rainouts aren't big news. We're gonna see a good number of them this month, after all.

This one, though, is big news. It marks the first rainout in Oakland's O.Co Coliseum since May 5, 1998. That's quite a run.

The game will be made up Wednesday, as the clubs will play a day/night doubleheader. The times are 3:35 p.m. ET/12:35 p.m. PT and 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
COMMENTS
Conversation powered by Livefyre

mlb Video

September 17, 2014
MLB Power rankings 9/17 (5:47)
1 September 16, 2014
Papelbon suspended
(0:57)
2 September 16, 2014
MLB Top 10 players of the second half
(3:37)
3 September 16, 2014
Gary Sheffield talks about his career
(17:05)

Latest

Most Popular

CBSSports.com Shop

Mens Baltimore Orioles Majestic Charcoal 2014 AL East Division Champions Locker Room T-Shirt

MLB Division Champs Gear
Get your team today
Shop Now