Asdrubal Cabrera misses cycle on rookie official scorer's ruling

By Mike Axisa | Baseball Writer

More MLB: Power Rankings | Expert Picks | Latest news & notes | Fantasy news

Shortstop Asdrubal Cabrera had a whale of a game on Thursday as his Indians beat the Twins by the score of 9-4. Cabrera went 4-for-5 with two doubles, one home run and three runs driven in. Here is video of his big day, and pay extra special attention to his fourth and final hit:

Cabrera made it to third base on the fourth hit, which means a triple. After picking up a single, double and homer earlier in the game, Asdrubal just completed the cycle. He sure celebrated like he did.

Except Cabrera did not hit for the cycle. The official scorer ruled that final hit a double and said Cabrera advanced to third on the throw home. As Anthony Castrovine of MLB.com points out, the official scorer was literally on his first day at the job:

Cabrera did not speak to reporters after the game and was rather annoyed about losing out on the cycle despite his huge day at the plate. I understand being upset, but he came into the game hitting only .215/.296/.314. Losing out on a triple isn't a big deal.

Anyway, Cabrera spoke to reporters before Friday's game and said he's disappointed with not getting the cycle, but indicated neither he nor the team will petition the league for a scoring change. I would have ruled it a double and advancing on the throw as well, but what do I know. Cabrera had a great day at the plate and still ran into some bad luck.

There have been seven cycles in Indians history. Travis Hafner did it most recently in 2009.

(h/t Big League Stew)

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
COMMENTS
Conversation powered by Livefyre

mlb Video

Latest

Most Popular

CBSSports.com Shop

Men's Green Bay Packers Nike Green Reflective Pack Performance Hoodie

Cold Weather Gear
Keep warm in your favorite team apparel
Shop Now