• My Scores
  • NFL
  • MLB
  • Golf

Hall of Fame announces changes to balloting process

By Dayn Perry | Baseball Writer

Things are changing with regard to how Hall of Famers are chosen. (USATSI)
Things are changing with regard to how Hall of Famers are chosen. (USATSI)

Related: La Russa says let PED users in Hall with asterisks

On Saturday, the Baseball Hall of Fame announced some important changes to the election process. To wit:

Eligible players who are named on least 5.0 percent of BBWAA ballots in a given year will now remain on the ballot for a maximum of 10 years, as opposed to 15 years, which was the previous rule. Grandfathered in will be three candidates who presently have between 10 and 15 years on the ballot: Don Mattingly, Alan Trammel and Lee Smith.

BBWAA Hall of Fame voters will be required to complete a registration form and sign a code of conduct.

The names of BBWAA voters will be released with the results of each election. Individual ballots will not be released by the Hall of Fame, although many voters choose to make public their ballots each year.

Ernst and Young, the firm responsible for the vote count, will have "added responsibilities in verifying the process."

All of the above decisions were made by the Hall of Fame, which controls the voting process, and not the BBWAA, the eligible members of which vote each year.

The changes, which are the first to the balloting process since 1991, take effect immediately.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

mlb Video

September 3, 2015
Will the Nationals remaining schedule help them make the postseason? (2:07)
September 3, 2015
Kershaw, Sale nearing 300 K's
September 3, 2015
Votto, Cabrera having strong seasons
September 3, 2015
Dodgers call up Corey Seager


Most Popular

CBSSports.com Shop

Men's Nike Scarlet Ohio State Buckeyes No. 15 Limited Football Jersey

College Sideline Gear
Get your favorite school
Shop Now