A's-Indians game becomes first rainout in Oakland since 1998

More MLB: Scoreboard | Standings | Probable Pitchers | Sortable Stats | Odds

The Cleveland Indians and Oakland Athletics were set to square off in the second game of their season-opening three-game series Tuesday night, but Mother Nature has intervened. The game has been called on account of rain.

Normally, April rainouts aren't big news. We're gonna see a good number of them this month, after all.

This one, though, is big news. It marks the first rainout in Oakland's O.Co Coliseum since May 5, 1998. That's quite a run.

The game will be made up Wednesday, as the clubs will play a day/night doubleheader. The times are 3:35 p.m. ET/12:35 p.m. PT and 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT.

CBS Sports Writer

Matt Snyder has been a baseball writer with CBS Sports since 2011. A member of the BBWAA, he's now covered the last five World Series beginning with the epic 2011 Fall Classic. The former Indiana University... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
CBS Sports Shop
Chicago Cubs 2016 World Series Champs Gear
Our Latest Stories