Fans can help pick Marvin Miller Man of the Year award winner

Chipper Jones was the 2012 Marvin Miller Man of the Year.
Chipper Jones was the 2012 Marvin Miller Man of the Year. (USATSI)

More MLB: Scoreboard | Standings | Probable Pitchers | Sortable Stats | Odds

The Marvin Miller Man of the Year award is given annually to a Major League Baseball player "whose on-field performance and contributions to his community inspire others to higher levels of achievement." It's a Players Choice Award, meaning all MLB players vote on the matter.

This season, though, fans will have a voice. Anyone has the ability to vote online, with voting ending 11:59 p.m. ET on Sept. 15.

Click here to vote.

Each of the 30 teams has a nominee, as chosen by their teammates. Here they are:

Baltimore Orioles : Adam Jones
Boston Red Sox : Jon Lester
New York Yankees : Mariano Rivera
Tampa Bay Rays : David Price
Toronto Blue Jays : Munenori Kawasaki

Chicago White Sox : Hector Santiago
Cleveland Indians : Nick Swisher
Detroit Tigers : Torii Hunter
Kansas City Royals : Eric Hosmer
Minnesota Twins : Glen Perkins

Houston Astros : Jason Castro
Los Angeles Angels : Albert Pujols
Oakland Athletics : Grant Balfour
Seattle Mariners : Raul Ibanez
Texas Rangers : Ian Kinsler

Atlanta Braves : Tim Hudson
Miami Marlins : Juan Pierre
New York Mets : Dillon Gee
Philadelphia Phillies : Chase Utley
Washington Nationals : Adam LaRoche

Chicago Cubs : Anthony Rizzo
Cincinnati Reds : Bronson Arroyo
Milwaukee Brewers : Rickie Weeks
Pirtaes: Pedro Alvarez
St. Louis Cardinals : Carlos Beltran

Arizona Diamondbacks : Brad Ziegler
Colorado Rockies : Todd Helton
Los Angeles Dodgers : Adrian Gonzalez
San Diego Padres : Will Venable
San Francisco Giants : Barry Zito

Last year's winner was the retiring Chipper Jones. Previous winners among active players include Michael Young (twice), Curtis Granderson , Pujols and Hunter.

Show Comments Hide Comments