GIF: Line drive bounces, still ruled a catch in tiebreaker game
Expanded replay can't come soon enough, as the six umpire crew for the tiebreaker game in the AL badly botched a pretty big call.
Still, with the extra two umpires on the field, the crew managed to botch this call (thanks to Cork Gaines for the GIF).
Yes, that was ruled a catch. I'm not kidding.
Not only that, it may have cost the Rays a big inning. With runners on first and second, Delmon Young sent that liner to center. Wil Myers surely would have scored from second and the Rays would have then had runners on first and third for David DeJesus -- who collected an RBI double earlier in the game. The lead would have been increased to 5-2.
Instead, the score remained 4-2 Rays heading to the bottom of the seventh.
The Rays went on to win the game 5-2.
Our Latest Stories
The free agency bonanza gets started not long after the World Series ends, so the clock is...
Schwarber's surgically repaired knee isn't ready for outfield duty in Game 3
Tomlin's father was paralyzed in August due to a tangle of blood vessels on his spinal cor...
There's no timetable on when the film will come out, if ever
The winners will be announced Nov. 8
The Cubs legend is on the outside looking in during the World Series