Miguel Cabrera, Andrew McCutchen headline Players' Choice winners

MORE: Wil Myers and the "Smelly Brodusa"

As prelude to the BBWAA awards later this month, the MLBPA on Monday handed out a bevy of Players' Choice Awards. The Players' Choice Awards are, as the name suggests, voted on by active MLBers. 

As for the star of the night, here's a hint ... 

In addition to voting for awards, players also voted on which peer would grace the cover of MLB The Show 2014. That player was, as you see hinted above, Miguel Cabrera of the Tigers

As for the awards themselves, we've already informed you that Mariano Rivera of the Yankees and Francisco Liriano of the Pirates won, respectively, AL and NL Comeback Player of the Year. Now let's run down the rest of the MLBPA hardware for 2013 ... 

Player of the Year: Miguel Cabrera, Tigers
AL Oustanding Player: Miguel Cabrera, Tigers
NL Outstanding Player: Andrew McCutchen, Pirates
AL Outstanding Pitcher: Max Scherzer, Tigers
NL Outstanding Pitcher: Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers
AL Outstanding Rookie: Wil Myers, Rays
NL Outstanding Rookie: Jose Fernandez, Marlins
Mavin Miller Man of the Year: Mariano Rivera, Yankees

I'd be very surprised if the AL and NL MVP and Cy Young awards don't wind up exactly the same as what you see above. 

Show Comments Hide Comments