MLB and BBWAA announce finalists for MVP, Cy Young and other awards

The Debate: Part Two.
The Debate: Part Two. (USATSI)

Starting next Monday, Major League Baseball and the Baseball Writers Association of America will announce the annual end-of-season awards. Here are the finalists for each of the four major awards, which were announced live on MLB Network on Tuesday night (finalists listed alphabetically):

ROOKIE OF THE YEAR (announced Nov. 11)

AL - Chris Archer ( Tampa Bay Rays ), Jose Iglesias ( Detroit Tigers ) and Wil Myers (Rays)
NL - Jose Fernandez ( Miami Marlins ), Shelby Miller ( St. Louis Cardinals ) and Yasiel Puig ( Los Angeles Dodgers )

MANAGER OF THE YEAR (announced Nov. 12)

AL - John Farrell ( Boston Red Sox ), Terry Francona ( Cleveland Indians ) and Bob Melvin ( Oakland Athletics )
NL - Fredi Gonzalez ( Atlanta Braves ), Clint Hurdle ( Pittsburgh Pirates ) and Don Mattingly (Dodgers)

CY YOUNG AWARD (announced Nov. 13)

AL - Yu Darvish ( Texas Rangers ), Hisashi Iwakuma ( Seattle Mariners ) and Max Scherzer (Tigers)
NL - Fernandez, Clayton Kershaw (Dodgers) and Adam Wainwright (Cardinals)

MOST VALUABLE PLAYER (announced Nov. 14)

AL - Miguel Cabrera (Tigers), Chris Davis ( Baltimore Orioles ) and Mike Trout ( Los Angeles Angels )
NL - Paul Goldschmidt ( Arizona Diamondbacks ), Andrew McCutchen (Pirates) and Yadier Molina (Cardinals)

CBS Sports Writer

Mike Axisa joined CBS Sports in 2013. He has been a member of the BBWAA since 2015 and has previously written about both fantasy baseball and real life baseball for,,,... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
CBS Sports Shop
Chicago Cubs 2016 World Series Champs Gear
Our Latest Stories