VIDEO: Ian Desmond's inside the park homer overturned by replay
Nationals shortstop Ian Desmond was arguably robbed of an inside the park homer by instant replay.
The Nationals and Braves are kicking off an important three-game series in Washington this weekend. Important by early April standards, anyway. The two teams are expected to battle for the NL East crown all season.
In the fifth inning, with the Braves leading 1-0, Nats shortstop Ian Desmond hit a rocket down the left field line that came to a stop under the padding of the outfield wall. Rather than pick it up, Justin Upton raised his hands, indicating a ground-rule double. Here's the play:
Desmond never stopped running. He chugged all the way around the bases for an inside the park home run. Braves manager Fredi Gonzalez came out to argue and eventually the play was reviewed. After a lengthy review (roughly five minutes), the play was indeed ruled a ground-rule double.
The official ruling on @IanDesmond20's HR, overturned to a double, was that the ball was lodged in the padding of the wall. Rule 7.05(f)— Washington Nationals (@Nationals) April 4, 2014
Was that ball really lodged though? I mean ...
... it came out pretty easily, no? I'm not sure how a replay could determine that ball was lodged either. If anything, it's inconclusive, and the ruling on the field was an inside the park homer. I don't see enough evidence there to overturn it.
Maybe the outfielder could try to pick up the ball the next time we run into a play like this. That would look better than "trust me, it's lodged."
Our Latest Stories
Say what you will about the D-Backs this year, but this was a nice touch
Farrell had enough and he let the fan have it
For the first time in a long time, the Yankees started looking towards the future
Their season didn't go as planned, but the Astros are well poised for contention
Alonso High School now has its collection of Fernandez jerseys intact
Ground-rule double or not? It's complicated, and so's challenging a play at the end of a g...