VIDEO: Interference gives Rockies around-the-horn triple play
The Rockies turned a rather unique triple play against the Padres Sunday. Here it is.
With runners on first and second and no outs during the third inning in the rubber match between the Padres and Rockies Sunday, Padres outfielder Carlos Quentin sent a grounder to slick-fielding Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado. The result was, eventually, a triple play:
Rule 7.09 states that it is interference by a runner when ...
(e) If, in the judgment of the umpire, a base runner willfully and deliberately interferes with a batted ball or a fielder in the act of fielding a batted ball with the obvious intent to break up a double play, the ball is dead. The umpire shall call the runner out for interference and also call out the batter-runner because of the action of his teammate.
We often see runners go a bit away from second base in an attempt to break up a double (or triple!) play, but Seth Smith was pretty far inside the bag and his biggest problem was probably his arms being out. In fast motion to an umpire, that had to look like Smith attempted to grab D.J. LeMahieu's legs. That's always going to be called interference.
Our Latest Stories
Canseco is joining NBC Sports California to provide Athletics coverage this year
Mike Trout played a little prank on the Angels former pitching coach with the help of his...
But he also isn't very happy about it, clearly
Umpires also use spring training to get back into game shape, you know
Braves catcher Matt Foley paid homage to an SNL character
Joe Nathan was one of the best closers of his generation. Now his career may be over