WATCH: Chris Stewart strikes out on strike two
Yankees catcher Chris Stewart lost track of the count and struck out on strike two Thursday night.
Chris Stewart is in the Yankees lineup not for his bat, but because he's a very good defensive catcher who handles their pitching staff well. He took his offensive woes (55 OPS+) a little further on Thursday night by striking out on a 1-1 pitch. Yes, he struck out on strike two. Here's the video:
Stewart simply lost track of the count and the game continued. The Orioles weren't going to say anything and I guess no one on the Yankees noticed. Nothing in the rulebook says home plate umpire Jim Wolf is obligated to call the hitter back to the plate in a situation like that.
"[Wolf] said something the first pitch, and I thought he called it a strike," said Stewart to MLB.com's Bryan Hoch after the game. "I assumed it was 0-1, I fouled a ball off and I swung and missed at a ball. No one said anything; the umpire didn't say anything, so I just came on back to the dugout and put my stuff away."
Replays showed Stewart, Wolf and Orioles catcher Matt Wieters chuckling about the whole thing an inning or two later. No harm no foul, I guess.
Our Latest Stories
The Indians have acquired most of their roster through the draft and trades
The Cubs have a chance to clinch their first NL pennant since 1945
It happened on the FOX set on Thursday night, and it was a fascinating conversation
Marksberry was in a medically induced coma for several days
The now-retired Boston great played through all sorts of foot and ankle injuries late in his...
The Cubs have too much offense, Murray says