NASCAR Chase Stats Tracker: Charlotte staff and wire reports

Which Chase drivers fare well at Charlotte Motor Speedway and which Chase drivers tend to struggle? Our driver chart breaks down all the key statistics.

Click on a column header to sort.

Chase drivers at Charlotte Motor Speedway
DriverRacesPolesWinsTop FivesTop 10sDNFsAvg. FinishBest Finish
Jimmie Johnson1836913210.21
Denny Hamlin100003118.58
Kevin Harvick190013120.72
Jeff Gordon35751620915.41
Tony Stewart2301611113.41
Kurt Busch200145320.01
Carl Edwards110047113.23
Jeff Burton3303815415.11
Kyle Busch131047317.83
Greg Biffle150025219.12
Matt Kenseth2201611515.41
Clint Bowyer90013017.72

Odds and ends

There have been 103 Cup Series points races at Charlotte Motor Speedway, two races per year since the track opened in 1960. In 1961, there were two 100-mile qualifying points races held the week beforethe May race. The first six fall races at Charlotte were 400-mile events (1960-65).

There have been 37 drivers to win the pole at Charlotte, led by David Pearson with 14. Pearson had 11 straight poles at Charlotte from the fall of 1973 through 1978. Fireball Roberts won the pole for the first race at the track.

Ryan Newman has won the pole nine times at Charlotte to lead all active drivers. Jeff Gordon has won the pole seven times.

There have been 43 drivers to win races at Charlotte. Joe Lee Johnson won the first race

Bobby Allison, Darrell Waltrip and Jimmie Johnson each have six wins at Charlotte.

Kurt Busch won both the All-Star Race and the Coca-Cola 600 in May. He looks to become the first driver to win the All-Star Race, the 600 and the Bank of America 500 in the same season.

There have been 13 back-to-back victories at Charlotte, including three consecutive by Fred Lorenzen (fall 1964 and both 1965) and four straight by Jimmie Johnson (spanning 2004 and 2005).

A sweep has occurred eight times, including each season from 2004-2006.

14 races at Charlotte have been won from the pole, the last by Jimmie Johnson in October 2009.

Jimmie Johnson won the 2003 Coca-Cola 600 from the 37th starting position, the furthest back a race winner has started at Charlotte.

Jeff Gordon, Matt Kenseth, Bobby Labonte, Jamie McMurray, Casey Mears and David Reutimann all earned their first career Cup wins at Charlotte. Inactive drivers David Pearson, Buddy Baker and Charlie Glotzbach also got their first series win at the track.


Biggest Stories

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre
Related Links


Most Popular