Play Fantasy Use your Fantasy skills to win Cash Prizes. Join or start a league today. Play Now

NASCAR Chase Stats Tracker: Talladega staff and wire reports

Which Chase drivers fare well at Talladega Superspeedway and which Chase drivers tend to struggle? Our driver chart breaks down all the key statistics.

Click on a column header to sort.

Chase drivers at Talladega Superspeedway
DriverRacesPolesWinsTop FivesTop 10sDNFsAvg. FinishBest Finish
Jimmie Johnson171147717.81
Denny Hamlin90033219.33
Kevin Harvick191148015.51
Kyle Busch110112423.21
Jeff Gordon35161316816.71
Carl Edwards120013422.55
Tony Stewart2301912514.81
Jeff Burton3300413518.43
Kurt Busch1900613312.83
Matt Kenseth210036318.73
Greg Biffle150012522.04
Clint Bowyer90013221.45

Odds and ends

There have been 82 Cup races since the track opened in 1969; two a year every year except the inaugural season, which had just one.

35 different drivers have won the pole at Talladega. Bobby Isaac won the first pole at Talladega in September 1969. He won the pole in the first three races held at the track.

Bill Elliott leads all drivers with eight poles at Talladega.

40 different drivers have posted victories at Talladega. Richard Brickhouse won the first Cup race held at the track.

18 drivers have won more than once at Talladega, led by Dale Earnhardt Sr. with 10 wins. Jeff Gordon leads all active drivers with six victories.

Kevin Harvick won his first Talladega race this past April.

Hendrick Motorsports and Richard Childress Racing each have 10 wins at Talladega, more than any other organization.

31 of 81 races have been won from a top-two starting position, including 13 from the pole; 23 have been won from a starting position outside the top 10. The most recent driver to win from the pole was Jeff Gordon in spring 2007.

The furthest back in the field a race winner started was 36th (Jeff Gordon, 2000).

Mark Martin’s pace in the 1997 spring race set an all-time NASCAR Cup record for the fastest race. He won the caution-free race with an average speed of 188.354 mph and covered the 500-mile distance in two hours, 39 minutes and 18 seconds.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. had four consecutive victories (October 2001 through April 2003), the most ever by a driver at Talladega. Buddy Baker (three – May 1975 through May 1976) is the only other driver to win more than two consecutive races at the track.

Since the inception of electronic scoring in 1993, every race that has ended under green at Talladega has had a margin of victory under half a second. In April, the margin of victor was 0.011 seconds, the second-closest margin at the track.


Biggest Stories

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre
Related Links


Most Popular