Play Fantasy The Most Award Winning Fantasy game with real time scoring, top expert analysis, custom settings, and more. Play Now

David Stern highlights Naismith Hall of Fame 2014 class

By Eye on Basketball staff

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced on Friday in New Orleans that recently retired NBA commissioner David Stern has been elected to its 2014 class.

Stern, who officially retired as NBA commissioner on Feb. 1 after 30 years in that position, was elected by the contributors committee. He will be enshrined along with the rest of the 2014 lass on Aug. 8 in Springfield, Mass.

The Hall of Fame also selected five former players as finalists, including Alonzo Mourning, Tim Hardaway, Mitch Richmond, Kevin Johnson and Spencer Haywood. The full class is scheduled to be announced on April 7 during the NCAA men's basketball tournament Final Four.

College coaches Eddie Sutton, Gary Williams, Nolan Richardson and Harley Redin were also announced as finalists.

Four others were elected directly by committees.

The international committee elected Lithuania's Sarunas Marciulionis, former Pacers coach Bob "Slick" Leonard by the ABA committee, former Knicks player Nat Clifton by the early African-American pioneers committee and former Temple University player Guy Rodgers by the veterans committee.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

nba Video

August 28, 2014
Doc gets extension (1:44)
1 August 28, 2014
Monty Williams joins The Doug Gottlieb Show
2 August 27, 2014
David Griffin joins The Doug Gottlieb Show
3 August 27, 2014
Timberwolves owner rips Kevin Love


Most Popular Shop