League acknowledges incorrect call at end of Grizzlies-Nuggets

By Matt Moore | NBA writer

The NBA issued a statement Tuesday regarding a missed call at the end of the Nuggets' loss to the Grizzlies. With .7 seconds left, the Nuggets fouled Courtney Lee after Timofey Mozgov first missed a three that was drawn up for him, and then dunked it on the rebound despite being down three.

Lee made the first free throw to make it a two-point game, then tried to intentionally miss the second one.

But Lee missed the rim, which should have been a violation. The officials didn't call it, game over, Grizzlies win. The Nuggets should have had the ball (out of timeouts, inbounding from their own basket) with .7 remaining.

More NBA: Power Rankings | Expert Picks | Latest news, notes

From the NBA:

“Upon review at the league office, we have confirmed that a free throw taken by Memphis' Courtney Lee with 0.7 seconds remaining in the game did not touch the rim. A violation should have been called with Denver inbounding the ball with 0.7 seconds left on the clock. Since the Nuggets had no timeouts remaining, they would not have been able to advance the ball to the frontcourt.”

That's a tough break for Denver. It's also curious that the officials can't review that play. The refs can and do look at so many different plays a game and yet they can't look at something this important?

Brian Shaw expressed confusion and dismay after the game about the call and said he would seek clarification on the call. Looks like he got it, but it doesn't change the result.

 
CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
COMMENTS
Conversation powered by Livefyre

nba Video

July 31, 2014
NBA proposing draft changes (2:43)
1 July 31, 2014
Durant's future
(1:58)
2 July 31, 2014
Boeheim impressed by Rose
(1:40)
3 July 30, 2014
Nash says next season probably his last
(2:47)

Latest

Most Popular

CBSSports.com Shop