Play Fantasy The Most Award Winning Fantasy game with real time scoring, top expert analysis, custom settings, and more. Play Now

2010 NBA Awards Watch


Updated: 4/30/2010

Coach of the Year
Scott Brooks, Thunder: When the Thunder were 3-29 last year, the playoffs were unimaginable. That miserable stretch, however, made GM Sam Presti confident that Brooks was the right man to lead his club.

While the team struggled to the worst start in the NBA, Presti was impressed by the way Brooks never tried to force immediate change. He has now taken the youngest roster in the league and turned the team into a 50-game winner and a playoff contender. Full Story
2. Scott Skiles, Bucks
4. Jerry Sloan, Jazz
3. Nate McMillan, Blazers
5. Alvin Gentry, Suns
Most Valuable Player
LeBron James, Cavaliers: Only seven years in to his career, LeBron James has joined one of the NBA's most exclusive clubs. The Cleveland Cavaliers superstar was voted the league's MVP for the second straight year.

James is the 10th NBA player to be the MVP in straight seasons. The 25-year-old joins Bill Russell, Wilt Chamberlain, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Moses Malone, Larry Bird, Magic Johnson, Michael Jordan, Tim Duncan and Steve Nash. Full Story

2. Kevin Durant, Thunder
4. Dwight Howard, Magic
3. Kobe Bryant, Lakers
5. Dwyane Wade, Heat

Defender of the Year
Dwight Howard, Magic: Orlando's center has won his second straight NBA Defensive Player of the Year award after becoming the only player to lead the league in blocks and rebounds in the same season twice.

Howard averaged 13.2 rebounds and 2.8 blocks per game this season, powering the Magic to the league's second-best record. Only Bill Walton, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Hakeem Olajuwon and Ben Wallace each led the NBA in those categories once in the same season. Full Story
2. Josh Smith, Hawks
4. LeBron James, Cavaliers
3. Gerald Wallace, Bobcats
5. Rajon Rondo, Celtics
Rookie of the Year
Tyreke Evans, Kings: Sacramento point guard Tyreke Evans beat out Golden State's Stephen Curry and Milwaukee's Brandon Jennings to win NBA Rookie of the Year.

Evans became the fourth rookie ever to average at least 20 points, five rebounds and five assists per game, joining Oscar Robertson, Michael Jordan and LeBron James. He led all rookies in scoring at 20.1 points per game, was second in assists at 5.8 and fifth in rebounds at 5.3. Full Story
2. Stephen Curry, Warriors
4. Darren Collison, Hornets
3. Brandon Jennings, Bucks
5. Jonny Flynn, Timberwolves

Sixth Man of the Year
Jamal Crawford, Hawks: Accepting a backup role for the first time in his career, Atlanta Hawks guard Jamal Crawford was rewarded for his unselfishness Tuesday by being named the NBA Sixth Man of the Year.

Crawford averaged 18 points a game in 31.1 minutes off the bench in his first season with Atlanta. He shot 44.9 percent from the field to help the Hawks win 53 games and earn the third seed in the Eastern Conference playoffs. Full story
2. Jason Terry, Mavericks
4. Manu Ginobili, Spurs
3. Anderson Varejao, Cavaliers
5. J.R. Smith, Nuggets
Most Improved Player
Aaron Brooks, Rockets: Aaron Brooks likes proving doubters wrong, and he did it this season, even though the Houston Rockets could not.

The speedy, 6-foot point guard was named the NBA's Most Improved Player on Thursday, after setting career highs in points (19.6 per game), assists (5.3) and rebounds (2.6). His scoring average went up 8.4 points from 2008-09, the highest increase of any qualifying player.
Full Story

2. Kevin Durant, Thunder
4. Marc Gasol, Grizzlies
3. George Hill, Spurs
5. Andrew Bogut, Bucks

Biggest Stories

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre


Most Popular