Robert Griffin III wins Offensive Rookie of the Year

Robert Griffin III wins Offensive Rookie of the Year

By Will Brinson | NFL Writer
RG3 is already the 'Skins' best player. (Ryan Wilson,

NEW ORLEANS -- Robert Griffin III was named Offensive Rookie of the Year on Saturday night after a marvelous season in which he completed 65.6 percent of his passes for 3,200 yards and 20 touchdowns, leading the Redskins into the playoffs with their first NFC East title since 1999.

The award was heavily-contested -- Griffin and fellow quarterbacks Andrew Luck of the Colts and Russell Wilson of the Seahawks were all worthy of winning the award.

"It's truly a blessing to be up here and to be able to stand first and foremost," Griffin said when he received the award. "All the competition to win this award was good and it seems like the league is in good hand with all these quarterbacks."

Also deserving of the ROY award? Redskins running back Alfred Morris, who got a shoutout from Griffin during his remarks following his reception of the award.

Griffin's win was suprisingly big: he received 29 votes for the award. Luck got 11 votes while Wilson got 10.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre
Sign up to our newsletter and find out who your team could be picking

nfl Video


Most Popular