Days after Patriots rookie Chris Jones was flagged for pushing a teammate during a Jets overtime field goal attempt (yep, it's illegal), the NFL sent out a video showing that the Jets were also guilty of the infraction.
It gets worse: Umpire Tony Michalek, who called the penalty on Patriots, did not call it on Jets, even though league admitted in the aforementioned video that both were violations, according to ESPN's Adam Schefter.
Judge for yourself:
This development comes on the heels of Patriots coach Bill Belichick saying the Jets were also guilty of the infraction.
"Well, I mean, since they were using the play themselves, I don't even know about all that," Belichick said Tuesday. "But basically we're just moving on here.''
The accusation didn't sit well with Jets coach Rex Ryan.
"That's not true," Ryan said. "That's not true. [Belichick's] got to make up his mind. Was he aware of this thing, was it second level, all this kind of jazz, or now the story is we did it. OK, I gotcha. The fact is, we're moving on, we earned that victory, plain and simple and we're focused on Cincinnati now.”
And Jets linebacker Quinton Coples went so far as to say "There was no film or footage of that to prove we did that'' adding: "We beat the Patriots. We move forward. They can say whatever. We won. We beat them. We won't see them no more this regular season. We're moving forward as far as Cincinnati."
Turns out, Belichick was right and Ryan and Coples were wrong.
Upside: Officials will be more vigilant flagging the penalty going forward. So there's that.