Pats' Danny Amendola flagged for laying out Chiefs player on legal hit

Danny Amendola isn't known as a dirty player but Twitter exploded after he laid out the Chiefs' Jamell Fleming during this second-quarter punt return:

Amendola, who was the punt returner on the play, was flagged for unnecessary roughness. But according to the rules, Fleming is afforded no such protection, and as such, there shouldn't have been a penalty on the play.

Here's Mike Pereira, the former NFL VP of officiating who now works for FOX Sports:

And then there's this, a similar play from the 2014 season, when officials wrongly flagged the Cowboys' Dwayne Harris for unnecessary roughness on the Eagles' Nolan Carroll.

If Harris had signaled for a fair catch he would not have been able to hit Carroll. But otherwise, the hit was perfectly legal under the rules. Unless, of course, you're Vontaze Burfict.

This hit by Danny Amendola is perfectly legal. (CBS)
This hit by Danny Amendola is perfectly legal. (USATSI)
CBS Sports Writer

Ryan Wilson has been an NFL writer for CBS Sports since June 2011, and he's covered five Super Bowls in that time. Ryan previously worked at AOL's FanHouse from start to finish, and Football Outsiders... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
CBS Sports Store
NFL Cold Weather Gear
Our Latest Stories