• My Scores
  • NHL
  • MLB
  • NFL
  • NBA
  • Golf

2009 NFL Awards

Coach of the Year
Marvin Lewis, Cincinnati Bengals
Skinny: Marvin Lewis won the Associated Press 2009 NFL Coach of the Year award for guiding his team to the playoffs during a season marked by tragedy. The Bengals won the AFC North with a 10-6 record, just their second division title since 1990, both under Lewis. They did so despite the deaths of wide receiver Chris Henry and Vikki Zimmer, the wife of defensive coordinator Mike Zimmer. Several players' families also were directly affected by the tsunami in the Samoan Islands. Full story
Voting Breakdown
Marvin Lewis Bengals 20 1/2
Sean Payton Saints 11 1/2
Norv Turner Chargers 9
Jim Caldwell Colts 7
Andy Reid Eagles 1
Ken Wisenhunt Cardinals 1
Past Winners

Offensive Player of the Year
Chris Johnson, Tennessee Titans
Skinny: That blur speeding away from opposing defenses and running off with the Associated Press 2009 NFL Offensive Player of the Year award is Chris Johnson. Considered the fastest man in pro football, Johnson was uncatchable in setting a league mark for yards from scrimmage (2,509) and becoming the sixth player with a 2,000-yard rushing season. Full story
Voting Breakdown
Chris Johnson, RB, Titans, 38 1/2
Drew Brees, QB, Saints, 9
Peyton Manning, QB, Colts, 1 1/2
Philip Rivers, QB, Chargers, 1
Past Winners

Defensive Player of the Year
Charles Woodson, Green Bay Packers
Skinny: The versatile Charles Woodson tied for the league lead with nine interceptions, returning three for touchdowns, and was a key to the Packers' turnaround on defense. His role in Green Bay's ranking second in overall defense, first in interceptions (30), takeaways (40) and turnover margin (plus-24) earned Woodson 28 votes from a nationwide panel of 50 sports writers and broadcasters who cover the NFL. Full story
Voting Breakdown
Charles Woodson, CB, Green Bay 28
Darrelle Revis, CB, NY Jets 14
Elvis Dumervil, LB, Denver 3
Darren Sharper, S, New Orleans 3
Jared Allen, DE, Minnesota 2
Past Winners

Peyton Manning, Indianapolis Colts
Skinny: Peyton Manning became the first player to win the Associated Press NFL Most Valuable Player honors four times. The Indianapolis Colts' sensational quarterback romped to the award Saturday in balloting by 50 sports writers and broadcasters who cover the league. Full story
Voting Breakdown
Peyton Manning, QB, Indianapolis 39 1/2
Drew Brees, QB, New Orleans 7 1/2
Philip Rivers, QB, San Diego 2
Brett Favre, QB, Minnesota 1
Past Winners

Offensive Rookie of the Year
Percy Harvin, Minnesota Vikings
Skinny: The Little Phenom is the NFL's top offensive rookie. Percy Harvin used his versatility and intelligence to win the Associated Press 2009 NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year award. The Minnesota Vikings wide receiver/kick returner ran away with the balloting the same way he outran defenses and special teams this season. Full story
Voting Breakdown
Percy Harvin, WR-KR, Minnesota 41
Michael Oher, T, Baltimore 6
Jeremy Maclin, WR-KR, Philadelphhia 1
Knowshon Moreno, RB, Denver 1
Mike Wallace, WR, Pittsburgh 1
Past Winners

Defensive Rookie of the Year
Brian Cushing, Houston Texans
Skinny: The Associated Press named Brian Cushing the 2009 Defensive Rookie of the Year in January, but when the NFL announced in May that he had violated the league's drug policy during the season and would be suspended for four games to start 2010, the AP called for a revote. Though the vote totals were much closer, Cushing still came out on top. Full story
Voting Breakdown (original vote totals in parenthesis)
Brian Cushing, LB, Houston 18 (39)
Jairus Byrd, S, Buffalo 13 (6)
Clay Matthews III, LB, Green Bay 12 (3)
Brian Orakpo, LB, Washington 3 (2)
James Laurinaitis, LB, St. Louis 1 (0)
Past Winners

Comeback Player of the Year
Tom Brady, New England Patriots
Skinny: Tom Brady has gone from record-setting MVP to injured superstar to the Associated Press 2009 NFL Comeback Player of the Year. Brady's strong return from a left knee injury that sidelined him for all but the first quarter of the 2008 opener earned the Patriots quarterback the award Wednesday. Full story
Voting Breakdown
Tom Brady, QB, New England 19
Carnell Williams, RB, Tampa Bay 14
Vince Young, QB, Tennessee 7
Cedric Benson, RB, Cincinnati 4
Brett Favre, QB, Minnesota 4
Anthony Hargrove, DE, New Orleans 1
Carson Palmer QB, Cincinnati 1
Past Winners

Biggest Stories

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre


Most Popular

CBSSports.com Shop

Dallas Cowboys Nike Breast Cancer Awareness KO Performance Hoodie

NFL Breast Cancer Awareness Gear
Get your favorite team
Shop Now