• My Scores
  • MLB
  • NBA
  • NHL
  • NFL Draft

NHL explains Devils disallowed goal

By Adam Gretz | Hockey writer
NEWARK -- It appeared as if the New Jersey Devils were able to take a 2-1 lead in the third period on Wednesday night, only to have the NHL instantly disallow the goal as the puck crossed the line.

Here's a look at the play, which resulted in Zach Parise using his hand to push the puck over the goal line.



The NHL released the following explanation shortly after...
At 3:58 of the third period in Game 1 of the Stanley Cup Final, video review confirmed the referee's call on the ice that New Jersey's Zach Parise directed the puck into the Los Angeles net with his glove. No goal New Jersey. According to NHL Rule 67.6, "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who bats or directs the puck with his hand into the net. A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who bats or directs the puck and it is deflected into the net off any player, goalkeeper or official. When the puck enters the net on a clear deflection off a glove, the goal shall be allowed."
For more hockey news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnHockey and @agretz on Twitter and like us on Facebook.
CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
COMMENTS
Conversation powered by Livefyre

nhl Video

May 1, 2015
Boomer & Carton: Capitals at Rangers game 2 preview (2:17)
May 1, 2015
Boomer & Carton: Capitals defeat Rangers 2-1
(3:05)
April 29, 2015
Ron Duguay talks Blackhawks
(1:38)
April 28, 2015
Boomer & Carton: Capitals at Rangers
(1:37)

Latest

Most Popular

CBSSports.com Shop

Men's New Era Red Tampa Bay Buccaneers 2015 NFL Draft On-Stage 59FIFTY Fitted Hat

2015 NFL Draft Day Hats
Get your team today
Shop Now

Picks and Projections
Get the latest picks and projections sent directly to your inbox!
Thank you for subscribing!
Be on the lookout for the latest picks, lines, projections and analysis in your inbox.