The Columbus Blue Jackets have somehow managed to work their way back into playoff contention (well, Sergei Bobrovsky has helped carry them there), making Thursday's game in Edmonton a pretty big one.
They ended up losing, 6-4, but were on the wrong end of what appeared to be a rather questionable call by the Toronto war room when it disallowed what appeared to be a Matt Calvert goal late in the second period.
Here's the play. Judge for yourself whether or not this is a distinct kicking motion.
The NHL's explanation:
At 17:33 of the second period in the Blue Jackets/Oilers game, video review determined that Columbus forward Matt Calvert used his skate to kick the puck into the net. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net." No Goal Columbus.
I've watched that video at least 10 times and have yet to see where the distinct kicking motion comes in. It looks to be more of a "the guy was tackled on his way to the net and the puck just happened to go in off of his skate as he was falling to the ice" type of play.
That should have made it a good goal.
It proved to be a costly call as the Blue Jackets went on to lose the game, and even though it was decided by two goals, it was still a one-goal game until late in the third period when Edmonton scored an empty-net goal when Columbus pulled its goalie -- something it wouldn't have had to do had the game been tied.