Nothing like a little controversy on the final night of the season.
In the second period of a mammoth game in terms of the playoff race in the West, it appeared that the Colorado Avalanche scored to take a 2-1 lead on the Minnesota Wild, who needed a win to guarantee a spot in the playoffs.
Only it wasn't a goal. The play was reviewed, and it was determined that Avs forward Chuck Kobasew kicked the puck in.
Watching the replays, it's hard to tell if the puck was kicked. If I were forced to guess, I would say it was not a kick but a stopping motion. However, you can't see. So the call really couldn't be overturned, and that's OK.
The controversial part really is that it was considered no goal on the ice. The referee originally signaled it was a good goal, but the call was changed before the review. Notice the language in the NHL's Situation Room update:
At 4:05 of the second period in the Wild/Avalanche game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Colorado forward Chuck Kobasew used his right skate to kick the puck into the net. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net." No Goal Colorado.
That's a really tough one to swallow after watching the closest referee signal a good goal initially, but that does happen from time to time.
Of course, this call ended up being huge. The Wild would go on to take a 3-1 win, the third goal coming in the final seconds on an empty net. As you can see, the goal being taken off the board was an awfully big call and one that they will probably be talking a lot more about in Columbus than Denver considering the Jackets missed out on the playoffs with Minnesota's win.