• My Scores
  • MLB
  • NBA
  • NHL
  • Golf
  • Tennis

2013 NHL Awards: Paul MacLean wins coach of the year

By Adam Gretz | Hockey writer

Ottawa's Paul MacLean was named the NHL's coach of the year on Friday. (USATSI)
Ottawa's Paul MacLean was named the NHL's coach of the year on Friday. (USATSI)

More NHL Playoffs: Scores | TV Schedule | Expert Picks | Odds | Mock Draft | Rumors

The NHL started handing out its awards for the 2013 season on Friday afternoon, naming the Jack Adams, Selke, King Clancy, Masteron, Lady Byng, and Mark Messier Award winners. The rest of the awards, including the MVP and the Rookie of the Year award, will be handed out on Saturday night in Chicago before Game 2 of the Stanley Cup Final between the Chicago Blackhawks and Boston Bruins.

The two big awards on Friday were the Jack Adams (coach of the year) and Selke Trophy (best defensive forward).

Ottawa's Paul MacLean took home the Adams for helping lead the Ottawa Senators to the playoffs despite losing several key players during the regular season, beating Chicago's Joel Quenneville and Anaheim's Bruce Boudreau by a rather significant margin.

As is usually the case when it comes to this award, Quenneville seemed to be punished by the fact he had a better team and wasn't coaching one that didn't have many preseason expectations. It almost always seems that this award goes to a coach of a team that wasn't expected to do anything but still managed to sneak into the playoffs as a lower seed. Does that mean they did a better job than a coach like Quenneville -- even with a superior roster -- who guided his team to the best record in the league, including a 20-plus game point streak to start the season?

In the eyes of the voters: Yes.

Here is a quick recap on Friday's awards.

Frank J. Selke Trophy: Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks

Chicago's Jonathan Toews edged Boston's Patrice Bergeron and Detroit's Pavel Datsyuk for the Selke Trophy, which is awarded every year to the NHL's best defensive forward. This was easily the closest result of all the awards that were handed out Friday.

It's the first time Toews has won the award. Toews finished the regular season second in faceoffs, spent some time on Chicago's penalty kill, was one the Blackhawks' best possession players during the regular season, and was on the ice for just 1.60 goals against per 60 minutes of 5-on-5 play.

Selke voting
PlayerFirst placeSecond placeThird placeTotal points
Jonathan Toews7551201260
Patrice Bergeron7844241250
Pavel Datsyuk83758737
Anze Kopitar4719266
David Backes31012240

Jack Adams Award: Paul MacLean, Ottawa Senators

Paul MacLean led the Ottawa Senators to the playoffs for the second straight season despite spending most of the year without several of his best players due to injury, including Jason Spezza, Erik Karlsson, Craig Anderson, and Milan Michalek. That was apparently enough to earn him the Jack Adams Award as the coach of the year as he beat Anaheim's Bruce Boudreau and Chicago's Joel Quenneville for the award.

The Senators finished the regular season with a 25-17-6 record and advanced to the second round of the playoffs after beating the Montreal Canadiens in five games in the first round.

Jack Adams voting
CoachFirst placeSecond placeThird placeTotal points
Paul MacLean28199206
Joel Quenneville221311160
Bruce Boudreau6151388
Michel Therrien1061078
Jack Capuano55747

General manager of the year: Ray Shero, Pittsburgh Penguins

Pittsburgh's Ray Shero was one of the busiest general managers leading up to the NHL trade deadline, swinging several deals to land Jarome Iginla, Brenden Morrow, Jussi Jokinen, and Douglas Murray in an effort to put his team over the top. How well all of those deals worked out is up for some level of debate -- especially since Pittsburgh was swept by the Boston Bruins in the Eastern Conference finals -- but the trade activity and the fact Pittsburgh finished with the best record in the Eastern Conference was enough to get him the top spot.

Anaheim's Bob Murray and Montreal's Marc Bergevin were the other two finalists.

GM of the Year voting
GMFirst placeSecond placeThird placeTotal points
Ray Shero146694
Bob Murray119688
Marc Bergevin712475
Stan Bowman36336
Bryan Murray22723

Lady Byng Trophy: Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning

Tampa Bay's Martin St. Louis takes home the Lady Byng Trophy, given to the player that exhibits the most sportsmanship.

St. Louis previously won the award in 2009-10 and 2010-11. In 48 games this season he tallied just 14 penalty minutes.

Lady Byng voting
PlayerFirst placeSecond placeThird placeTotal points
Martin St. Louis472921824
Patrick Kane442820785
Matt Moulson352827750
Pavel Datsyuk132623536
Logan Couture81915354

King Clancy Memorial Trophy: Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins

The King Clancy Memorial Trophy is awarded to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and who has made a significant humanitarian contribution to his community.

Boston's Patrice Bergeron is the 2013 winner.

During his time in Boston, Bergeron started a program called "Patrice's Pals," which takes patients from local hospitals and children's organizations to Bruins games in a VIP setting. Bergeron personally meets every guest, signing autographs and taking pictures.

Bill Masterton Trophy: Josh Harding, Minnesota Wild

Josh Harding won the Bill Masterton Trophy, which goes to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey, after being diagnosed with MS during the offseason and returning to the ice for the Minnesota Wild.

In his first start this season, Harding posted a 24-save shutout and then appeared in all five of Minnesota's playoff games.

Mark Messier Leadership Award: Daniel Alfredsson, Ottawa Senators

Nobody really knows why Mark Messier gets his own award and why he gets to pick the best leader in the NHL (it's not like Scotty Bowman is picking the best coach, or Wayne Gretzky picking the best player) but he selected Ottawa Senators captain Daniel Alfredsson as the best leader in the NHL for helping to get his team into the playoffs despite numerous injuries this season.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

nhl Video


Most Popular