• My Scores
  • NFL
  • NBA
  • NHL
  • Golf
  • Tennis

Super Bowl 50

Sun, Feb 7, 2016

Get the latest Super Bowl news >>

Super Bowl Commercials
Broncos Win Super Bowl 50
Home of Super Bowl 50
Watch Now 16 Things to Know Full Coverage

2013 NHL Awards: Sidney Crosby earns Ted Lindsay Award

By Chris Peters | Hockey Writer

Sidney Crosby earned the Ted Lindsay Award as the NHL's most outstanding player.(USATSI)
Sidney Crosby earned the Ted Lindsay Award as the NHL's most outstanding player. (USATSI)

More NHL Playoffs: Scores | TV Schedule | Expert Picks | Odds | Mock Draft | Rumors

The NHL closed out its awards presentations for the 2013 season Saturday evening, naming the Vezina, Calder, Norris, Lindsay and Hart winners. The other awards were passed out Friday.

Sidney Crosby may have been narrowly beaten out for the Hart Memorial Trophy by Alexander Ovechkin, but he still was a big winner Saturday. Crosby was named the Ted Lindsay Award winner as the league's most outstanding player as voted by his NHLPA peers.

Here's a look at some of the awards doled out Saturday.

Ted Lindsay Award: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins

Sidney Crosby earned the Ted Lindsay Award after being voted the league's most-outstanding player by his peers in the NHLPA. He beat out Alex Ovechkin and Art Ross winner Martin St. Louis for the honor. This is Crosby's second Lindsay nod as he received the award in just his second NHL season in 2006-07.

After battling back from a concussion, Crosby was dominant this season, right up until breaking his jaw with 12 games remaining. His 1.56 points-per-game led the NHL, with St. Louis coming closest at 1.25. Despite the missed time, Crosby finished fourth in the league in points and second in assists with 41.

A healthy Crosby is good for the league and his peers seemed to agree in awarding him the Lindsay.

Voting results were not made available for the Ted Lindsay Award.

Calder Memorial Trophy: Jonathan Huberdeau, Florida Panthers

After tying for the rookie scoring lead with 31 points, Florida Panthers forward Jonathan Huberdeau won the Calder Memorial Trophy as the league's rookie of the year. Huberdeau, who is the first Panther to win the award, beat out finalists Brandon Saad of the Chicago Blackhawks and Brendan Gallagher of the Montreal Canadiens.

Huberdeau was a major bright spot on the team with the league's worst record. The first-year center finished tied for second on the team with 14 goals and his point total also ranked second on the club.

With flashes of his immense skill throughout the season, Huberdeau gave Panthers fans a glimpse of brighter days ahead. The team also owns the second overall pick in the draft and could come away with another Calder candidate in Seth Jones, Nathan MacKinnon and Jonathan Drouin.

Calder Trophy voting
PlayerFirst placeSecond placeThird placeFourth placeFifth placeTotal
Jonathan Huberdeau5455262681141
Brendan Gallagher5444232413785
Brandon Saad3024263430730
Jonas Brodin2421322014621
Nail Yakupov1119293528521

Vezina Trophy: Sergei Bobrovsky, Columbus Blue Jackets

Though it didn't leak early, the Vezina Trophy winner seemed to be a no-brainer all along and the voting showed it, too. Sergei Bobrovsky of the Columbus Blue Jackets took home the award for the league's best goaltender, beating out the New York Rangers' Henrik Lundqvist and Antti Niemi of the San Jose Sharks.

Bobrovsky, who earned 17 first-place votes, was a revelation in Columbus this season in leading the Blue Jackets to the doorstep of the playoffs. Among goalies starting the majority of his team's games, Bobrovsky led the NHL with a .932 save percentage and posted a 2.00 goals-against average in 38 appearances.

There was even some chatter that Bobrovsky should have been a finalist for the Hart Trophy, but the Vezina is certainly a nice consolation prize.

Vezina voting
PlayerFirst placeSecond placeThird placeTotal
Sergei Bobrovsky1781110
Henrik Lundqvist312455
Antti Niemi64446
Craig Anderson31422
Tuukka Rask03312

James Norris Memorial Trophy: P.K. Subban, Montreal Canadiens

In what was one of the NHL's worst-kept secrets, Montreal's P.K. Subban won his first Norris Memorial Trophy as the league's best defenseman, beating out Kris Letang of the Pittsburgh Penguins and the Minnesota Wild's Ryan Suter.

Subban is the first Montreal defenseman to win the award since Chris Chelios did it in 1989.

The 24-year-old Canadiens rearguard tied Letang as the league's top point-getting defenseman with 38 and was immensely valuable to his team. Subban scored 11 goals, including seven on the power play, while averaging 23:14 of ice time.

Subban's season got off to a bit of a rocky start as he missed all of training camp and the first four games of the year. He signed a two-year deal to end the dispute, which will expire at the end of next season. With a Norris to his name now, his next payday could be enormous.

Norris voting
PlayerFirst placeSecond placeThird placeFourth placeFifth placeTotal
P.K. Subban6656351231266
Ryan Suter655434881230
Kris Letang3137423918914
Francois Beauchemin16203339290
Zdeno Chara10916822289
CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

nhl Video


Most Popular

SportsLine Picks and Projections
Get the latest picks and projections sent directly to your inbox!
Thank you for subscribing!
Be on the lookout for the latest picks, lines, projections and analysis in your inbox.