• My Scores
  • NFL
  • MLB
  • NBA
  • NHL
  • Golf

Marleau, O'Reilly, St. Louis named Lady Byng Trophy finalists

By Chris Peters | Hockey Writer

Ryan O'Reilly is one of three finalists for the Lady Byng Trophy. (USATSI)
Ryan O'Reilly is one of three finalists for the Lady Byng Trophy. (USATSI)

More Playoffs: Schedule, TV listings | Expert Picks | Bracket | Scores | Odds

The NHL is beginning to release the finalists for its end-of-season awards and started with the Lady Byng Trophy on Tuesday. The Lady Byng is awarded to “the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.”

Patrick Marleau of the San Jose Sharks, Ryan O'Reilly of the Colorado Avalanche and Martin St. Louis of the New York Rangers are the three players left in the running for the Lady Byng.

Marleau was whistled for just 18 penalty minutes this season despite an average of more than 20 minutes of ice time per game. He also scored 33 goals this season and posted 70 points. This is the second time in his career he has been up for the Byng.

O'Reilly remarkably finished the year with just one minor penalty all season. Only one other player in the history of NHL who played 80 or more games finished with two or fewer penalty minutes. That was Butch Goring in 1977-78 with the Los Angeles Kings, according to the NHL. O'Reilly also enjoyed a career year with 64 points including a team-leading 28 goals. He also led the NHL in takeaways with 83. This is O'Reilly's first time as a Lady Byng finalist.

St. Louis has become a perennial finalist at this point. He is looking for his second consecutive Lady Byng trophy and forth in the last five years. Despite playing the third most total minutes of any forward in the NHL, St. Louis committed just five infractions for a total of 10 penalty minutes. St. Louis scored 30 goals and put up 69 points between the Rangers and Tampa Bay Lightning and was the least penalized player among the league's top 20 scorers. This is the eighth time in the last 10 years that St. Louis is a finalist for this award.

The Lady Byng, along with all the other NHL Awards, will be handed out on June 24 at the NHL Awards ceremony in Las Vegas, Nev.

The NHL is expected to announce the finalists for the Calder Memorial Trophy on Wednesday.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

nhl Video

October 9, 2015
Connor McDavid & Jack Eichel make their NHL debuts (2:14)
October 8, 2015
Rangers defeat Blackhawks 3-2
October 7, 2015
The NHL season gets underway tonight
October 6, 2015
NHL Awards Predictions: Big year for Ovi?


Most Popular

CBSSports Shop

Men's Nike Scarlet Ohio State Buckeyes No. 15 Limited Football Jersey

College Sideline Gear
Get your favorite school
Shop Now

Picks and Projections
Get the latest picks and projections sent directly to your inbox!
Thank you for subscribing!
Be on the lookout for the latest picks, lines, projections and analysis in your inbox.