How's this for a wild ending? The New York Rangers actually put the puck in the net twice on the same shift in overtime, earning a 3-2 win over the Pittsburgh Penguins in overtime in Game 1 of their second-round series.
Of course, only one counted, but it doesn't make this play any less incredible.
Derick Brassard took a great feed from Benoit Pouliot and slipped a puck just up and under the crossbar, but the puck came out so fast it looked like it hit the crossbar instead. Brassard tried to celebrate to show the referees he did indeed score, but play continued.
The Penguins cleared the puck out, but it went to Rangers defenseman Anton Stralman who shot it to the net. The shot nearly went past Marc-Andre Fleury and settled in his crease. It was cleared away, but right to Brassard. He fed it to Pouliot, who put it in to make sure the game was over.
The replay showed clearly that Brassard's shot hit the back bar in the net.
So, yes, the Rangers scored twice on the same shift. Doesn't say much for the Penguins' team defense on that sequence, does it?
Perhaps the funniest thing in this whole sequence is that Pouliot assisted on the initial goal, while Brassard assisted on the phantom goal Pouliot scored to make sure the Rangers won. That's some teamwork there.
Pouliot may have had his OT winner taken away, but he did score earlier in the game and was awarded an assist on Brassard's winner. Not a bad night, considering.