• My Scores
  • NFL
  • NBA
  • NHL
  • Golf

Ottawa at Toronto

Senators rally, capture first shootout in league history

CBS SportsLine.com wire reports

TORONTO -- The first shootout in NHL history went to the Ottawa Senators.

Daniel Alfredsson scored twice in the final six minutes of regulation and once in the NHL's new tiebreaker as the Senators rallied for a 3-2 victory over the Toronto Maple Leafs on Wednesday night.

"It is exciting. It's nice to have a winner," Alfredsson said. "Both teams battled hard for 65 minutes. I think it's right that the losing team still gets a point."

Alfredsson tied it at 2-2 with 1:02 left in regulation, sending the game to overtime. After a scoreless five-minute extra period, Alfredsson scored on Ottawa's first attempt under the new shootout format.

Toronto's Jason Allison and Eric Lindros failed on their attempts against Dominik Hasek, but Dany Heatley scored on Ottawa's third chance, clinching the victory -- and two points -- for the Senators.

"I like the shootout. I think it's fun for everybody," Heatley said. "We battled hard the last 10 minutes and Alfie came up big."

Toronto coach Pat Quinn wasn't thrilled even though his team received one point for the loss.

"I'm not one of the ones that like the game being settled this way," Quinn said.

Toronto captain Mats Sundin didn't return after being struck in the face by a puck seven minutes into the first period. He left for the dressing room with a cut around his left eye, went to a local hospital and was released.

"The eyeball itself is fine. There's damage to the surrounding areas, but they weren't able to report if there is serious damage," Quinn said.

Sundin dropped to the ice after getting hit. He looked in obvious pain as blood poured.

"I don't know what the time frame is for him to play again. I would bet there is significant swelling," Quinn said.

Alfredsson tied it at 1-1 with 5:48 left with a shot that beat Ed Belfour from in front of the net.

After Lindros knocked down Ottawa's Mike Fisher with a check with less than four minutes left, Ottawa enforcer Chris Neil went after Lindros and received a minor penalty for cross-checking.

Lindros, playing his first game with his hometown team, received a rousing ovation. He then gave Toronto a 2-1 lead with a power-play goal with 1:31 remaining.

Hasek, 40, played his first game for Ottawa and his first for anybody since December 2003. He finished with 23 saves.

Belfour made 14 saves in the first period, including a spectacular glove save on Bryan Smolinski, and finished with 21.

Bryan McCabe's slap shot on the power play beat Hasek to the glove side at 2:28 of the first to give Toronto a 1-0 lead.


  • Maple Leafs fans were given a miniature replica of the Stanley Cup. The Maple Leafs haven't won it since 1967.
  • The Senators and Maple Leafs play each seven more times this season.
  • Toronto's Wade Belak didn't play because of a spider bite.
Copyright 2015 by STATS LLC and The Associated Press. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC and The Associated Press is strictly prohibited.
CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre
Daniel Alfredsson scores twice in the third period and beats Ed Belfour in a shootout here.  (Getty Images)
Daniel Alfredsson scores twice in the third period and beats Ed Belfour in a shootout here. (Getty Images)
Ottawa (1-0-0) «002013
Toronto (0-0-1)101002

Related Video

November 24, 2015
NHL Power Rankings: 11/24 (2:33)
November 20, 2015
NHL Quick Hits: Artemi Panarin leading rookies
November 18, 2015
NHL announces new All-Star Game format
November 17, 2015
NHL Power Rankings: 11/17
Scoring Summary
Penalty Summary
01:41Neil: Tripping - 2 min.
03:50Stajan: Hooking - 2 min.
04:37Bochenski: Too Many Men on the Ice(bench) - 2 min.
07:01Domi: Unsportsmanlike Conduct - 2 min.
09:27Volchenkov: Kneeing - 2 min.
09:27Tucker: Diving - 2 min.
09:27McGrattan: Roughing - 2 min.
12:47Redden: High sticking - 2 min.
15:31O'Neill: High sticking - 2 min.
Attendance - 19452
Game Time - 65:00
Referees - Stephane Auger, Don Van Massenhoven
Line Judges - David Brisebois, Scott Driscoll
Other Games
Mon 2 Final
Bos 1
NYI 4 Final
Buf 6
NYR 5 Final
Phi 3
Colu 2 Final
Wash 3
Atl 0 Final
Fla 2
Pitt 1 Final
NJ 5
Car 2 Final
TB 5
StL 1 Final
Det 5
SJ 2 Final
Nash 3
Cal 3 Final
Min 6
Ana 5 Final
Chi 3
LA 4 Final
Dal 5
Colo 3 Final
Edm 4
Pho 2 Final
Van 3