Henrik Lundqvist 'extremely disappointed' on interference non-call
The Kings' pivotal third goal in Game 2 of the Stanley Cup Final didn't sit well with Rangers goalie Henrik Lundqvist, who called a non-call for goalie interference 'extremely disappointing.'
When you have two games of a Stanley Cup Final as tight as Games 1 and 2 were in LA, the calls from the officials are going to be magnified more than they already are.
But none will garner as much attention as the call that wasn't made that led to LA's third goal that got the Kings rolling early in the third period. The Rangers were livid after the shot deflected off Dwight King and into the New York net believing there was interference on the play. Considering King was basically on top of Henrik Lundqvist, they had an argument to make.
Of course goalie interference is still not reviewable and they could complain all they want but the call was made and the goal stood. That one play sparked LA's comeback in Game 2, which they would win in double overtime, 5-4, a win that got away from the Rangers.
It was such a pivotal play in the game, one that changed the flow completely. Still, Rangers coach Alain Vigneault didn't offer much opinion on the play afterward. When asked if it was interference in his mind, his answer was brief.
"Ask the NHL," Vigneault said. That's about as clear as a non-answer gets.
Lundqvist, though, was much more willing to share his feelings on the play. He was understandably not thrilled with the call.
"I'm extremely disappointed on that call or non-call. They got to be consistent with that rule," Lundqvist said. "They score a goal and I can't even move. It's extremely frustrating for them to get life like that."
Shortly after the goal, Lundqvist was seen skating over to referee Dan O'Halloran to talk about the play further. What was the explanation he gave to Lundqvist?
"He said the puck had already passed me," Lundqvist said. "I don't buy it. That's a wrist shot that I'm just going to reach out for and I can't move."
Certainly it must be said that Rangers defenseman Ryan McDonagh didn't help matters. He aided at least a little in King's positioning there right in front of Lundqvist. But if that wasn't part of the reasoning given to Lundqvist for the non-call then it would seem like the officials missed one, a mighty big miss.
Given that the Kings needed that goal to get the game to overtime, you can understand why the Rangers would be frustrated and if Glen Sather leads the push for expanded video replay for officials, what his driving force is.
Even though it might feel like it, that non-call didn't decide the game, the Rangers still had their chances to win as did the Kings. But there's little getting around it was a huge call and one the Rangers felt wronged by.
Our Latest Stories
They're still trying to get the hang of a few things in Beijing
Team North America, ref cam among the good; Team USA and TV ratings among the bad
A stunning final three minutes of regulation in Game 2 gave the hosts the title
The new Habs forward will miss three of the team's five remaining preseason games
Maple Leafs, Coyotes have a lot of prospects to keep a close eye on as camps progress
It may sound strange, but some of the toughest guys on the ice are the linesmen