VIDEO: Blackhawks goal disallowed by controversial call
The Chicago Blackhawks appeared to take a 2-0 lead, but Jonathan Toews' goal was disallowed on a controversial goaltender interference call.
One look at the shade of red head coach Joel Quenneville's face turned after an apparent goal by the Chicago Blackhawks was disallowed in the second period didn't leave any doubt what he thought of the decision.
It was a bit of a weird play overall.
With the Blackhawks up 1-0 on the Los Angeles Kings in Game 1 of the Western Conference finals, Jonathan Toews drove the net and lost control of the puck. Jonathan Quick got a piece of it with his stick and it then appeared to go off defenseman Slava Voynov for a goal. Toews meanwhile was carried into Quick by his momentum before the puck crossed the goal line.
Initially, it was called a goal. After the referees consulted with each other, they decided that Toews’ contact constituted goalie interference and the goal was disallowed. Goalie interference is not a reviewable play.
They did also do a video review, however, to make sure that Toews' initial shot did not cross the goal line first, according to the NHL's Situation Room, which offered this explanation:
At 3:22 of the second period in the Los Angeles Kings/Chicago Blackhawks game, the referee consulted video review to see if Jonathan Toews' initial shot entered the Los Angeles net. It was determined Toews' initial shot did not enter the net. The referee's original call on the ice was "good goal" but a discussion between the on-ice officials resulted in a "no goal" decision because Toews made incidental contact with Kings goaltender Jonathan Quick before the puck crossed the goal line. This is not a reviewable play therefore the decision on the ice stands - no goal and no penalty.
The whole review explanation doesn't seem to shed much light on the situation here.
Getting back to the goalie interference: The question the officials have to ask is if Toews made enough of an effort to avoid contact. There’s a fair argument you could make that the contact was unavoidable due to the angle Toews took and the fact that Voynov blocked him from cutting back. It’s pretty clear though that Quick’s ability to make the save was impeded by the contact from Toews. It’s just a strange play overall.
To me, this one is too close to call and probably could have gone either way. Seems like goaltender interference is one of those infractions that can vary from game to game in how it is interpreted.
The review process only seemed to compound the confusion, but again, this was a close call.
What will make the referees sweat a little bit is that, minutes later, the Kings tied the game, making that call seem even bigger in rather immediate fashion.
Perhaps they breathed a sigh of relief when Chicago regained the lead, but the fact remains, this call will be a controversial one when looking back on this game.
Some say that bat still hasn't landed
Fans will have a tough choice to make in AHL team's presidential promotion
Lucic signs with Oilers, Okposo goes to Buffalo, Bruins land Backes
The NHL commissioner continued to deny a causal link between concussions and CTE
The 2015-16 season was interesting in a lot of ways. We look back at the Final NHL Power R...
Chicago will make the Harvard standout's shortlist, per his agent