VIDEO: Questionable goalie interference call costs Bruins a goal
Zdeno Chara was called for goaltender interference on Wednesday to wipe out a Bruins goal. The problem? He didn't appear to touch Jimmy Howard.
One of the big discussions at the General Managers meetings in Florida a couple of weeks ago regarded the expanded use of instant replay and even the idea of a coach's challenge. No call in hockey brings the cry for a challenge system more than goaltender interference.
If that discussion is to continue this offseason, there will be plenty of evidence. Maybe none of it would be as compelling as this goalie interference call against Zdeno Chara and the Bruins on Wednesday night in Detroit.
In the first period the Bruins went on the power play and so Chara went to his new office on the man advantage; the crease. Standing in front of Red Wings goalie, he gave enough of a screen for Torey Krug to fire home a shot from the point. Goal, Bruins.
Instantly the goal was called off by referee Chris Rooney for interference. The Bruins contested but no go, the call stood.
Take a look at the play above and you'll quickly see that Chara in no way interfered with Howard, not even accidentally. It was a perfect screen sans contact and it cost Boston a goal.
The Bruins did get their goal right after but that didn't change the fact that it was a terribly missed call. This isn't to necessarily blame Rooney, it's a tough call and as we all know, it gets missed with some frequency and there are few calls more important as they wipe goals off the board.
S/t PHT for video
The back-to-back Olympic champs are looking for more hardware on home ice
The NHL has plenty riding on the rebooted World Cup, but what will make it a success?
Johnny Gaudreau, Nikita Kucherov among key RFAs still waiting on a new contract
Goalies are used to stealing goals, this one stole a bunch of beer
Lucic signs with Oilers, Okposo goes to Buffalo, Bruins land Backes
The Magic Man is feeling right at home with SKA St. Petersburg