Bo doesn't know transfers and restrictions

Bo Ryan went on ESPN on Thursday morning to defend his position to limit transfer Jarrod Uthoff's options. His stance, more than anything else, was that he isn't doing anything that hasn't been done by other coaches across the country. 

Well, after Jeff Borzello and I researched about 15 of the most high-profile transfers, not a single coach banned an entire league besides their own. 

I'm fine with coaches that won't allow players to transfer to another school within their own league. I'm also fine with coaches than ban certain schools -- ones in which they felt tampered with the kid while he was still in the middle of the season. 

But, as I wrote on Wednesday, this was an excessive, uncalled for move by Ryan. 

Here's the list of 15 key transfers that have left their schools in the past month or so and the stipulations they faced from their previous schools and coach: 

Evan Smotrycz (Michigan) -- Not able to go to another Big Ten school or any team that has been scheduled for the next two years. 

Rayvonte <span data-shortcode=" data-canon="Rayvonte Rice" data-type="SPORTS_OBJECT_PLAYER" id="shortcode0"> (Drake) - Can't go to another Missouri Valley school or Iowa and Iowa State

Damontre Harris (South Carolina) - Restricted from N.C. State due to fact that administration felt that the Wolfpack were tampering. 

J.D. Weatherspoon (<span data-shortcode= State" data-canon="Ohio Bobcats" data-type="SPORTS_OBJECT_TEAM" id="shortcode0">) - Can't go within the Big Ten.

Jordan Sibert (Ohio State) - Can't go within the Big Ten.

Rodney Hood (Mississippi State) - Can't go anywhere within the SEC. 

Glen Rice Jr., (<span data-shortcode= Tech" data-canon="Georgia Bulldogs" data-type="SPORTS_OBJECT_TEAM" id="shortcode0">) - Can't go within the ACC or to in-state rival Georgia. 

Adam Smith (UNC Wilmington) - Can't go within the CAA. 

Gerard Coleman (Providence) - Can't go within the Big East. 

Josiah Turner (Arizona) - No restrictions except for Pac-12 rule in which he'd have to pay for first year if he transfers to another school within the league. 

T.J. McConnell (Duquesne) - Restricted from going to local schools Pittsburgh and Robert Morris

Tavon Sledge (Iowa State) - Couldn't go to another Big 12 school or Iowa.

Michael Gbinijie (Duke) - No restrictions

Tony Chennault (Wake Forest) - No restrictions

Kyle Cain (Arizona State) - No restrictions except for the Pac-12. 

Our Latest Stories