Bob Cousy Award Preseason Watch List for 2015 released

Both Fred VanVleet and Andrew Harrison are on the Cousy watch list in 2015. (USATSI)
Fred VanVleet and Andrew Harrison are on the Cousy watch list in 2015.(USATSI)

The Bob Cousy Award is given out annually to the top point guard in the country. Players such as Trey Burke, Kemba Walker and Ty Lawson have won the award in the past, and Shabazz Napier was the 2014 recipient of the award. 

Today, the Watch List for the 2015 Cousy Award was released, replete with 36 names from Division I basketball that have been compiled by media members. Some of the more interesting names include North Carolina's Marcus Paige, Wichita State's Fred VanVleet, Utah's Delon Wright and West Virginia's Juwan Staten. Freshmen such as Duke's Tyus Jones and Kentucky's Tyler Ulis are also on the list. 

It's important to remember that this is only a watch list, and even those not listed here can play their way into the voting process. The 20 semifinalists for the award are typically announced in early February. 

Here is the full list:

Player Name, School

Olivier HanlanBoston College
Quinn Cook, Duke University
Tyus Jones, Duke University
D'Vauntes Smith-RiveraGeorgetown University
Kevin PangosGonzaga University
Siyani ChambersHarvard University
Yogi FerrellIndiana University
Monte MorrisIowa State University
Kenneth SmithLouisiana Tech University
Cameron PayneMurray State University
Chasson RandleStanford University
Will CummingsTemple University
Alex CarusoTexas A&M University
T.J. McConnell, University of Arizona
Ryan Boatright, University of Connecticut
Kasey Hill, University of Florida
Andrew Harrison, University of Kentucky
Tyler Ulis, University Kentucky
Terry Rozier, University of Louisville
Romelo Trimble, University of Maryland
Angel Rodriguez, University of Miami
Derrick Walton Jr., University of Michigan
Jarvis Summers, University of Mississippi
Marcus Paige, University of North Carolina
Pierria Henry, University of North Carolina (Charlotte)
Jordan Woodward, University of Oklahoma
E.C. Matthews, University of Rhode Island
Isaiah Taylor, University of Texas
Julius Brown, University of Toledo
Delon Wright, University of Utah
London Perrantes, University of Virginia
Keifer Sykes, University of Wisconsin-Green Bay
Ryan ArcidiaconoVillanova University
Briante WeberVirginia Commonwealth University
Juwan StatenWest Virginia University
Fred VanVleet , Wichita State University

Our Latest Stories