Davidson joining the Atlantic 10 for 2014-15 season

Davidson is joining the Atlantic 10 for the 2014-15 season, the conference announced on Wednesday.

The Wildcats will stay in the Southern Conference for one more year, then make the move to the A-10.

“Davidson is an ideal fit for the Atlantic 10 -- as a nationally recognized academic Institution complimented by excellence in a broad-based athletic program -- the Wildcats will be competitive immediately. Their success in men's basketball is important, bringing another nationally recognized brand into the league,” Atlantic 10 commissioner Bernadette V. McGlade said. “It is my pleasure to welcome Davidson's administration, their student-athletes, staff, alumni and fans to the Atlantic 10 Conference. They will maintain our presence in the Charlotte market, one of the top 25 media markets in the country, and reinforce our commitment to national prominence in men’s basketball.”

Jeff Goodman of CBSSports.com reported back in April that the only roadblock to this move would be approval from Davidson’s board of trustees.

Davidson is the second offseason addition to the Atlantic 10, as George Mason will be leaving the CAA for the 2013-14 academic year. The Wildcats had previously spurned a chance to join the CAA, deciding to stay in the Southern. 

"The Atlantic 10 is a conference that gives Davidson the opportunity to be associated with and compete against institutions with significant profiles, both academically and athletically, while we continue to establish our national brand," Davidson AD Jim Murphy said. "This is a great opportunity to use athletics to further the goals and objectives of the college as we enhance the experience of our students."

The Atlantic 10 will see Temple, Charlotte, Butler and Xavier all leave -- but George Mason and Davidson help offset the losses. When the dust settles (for now), the A-10 will have 14 schools: Davidson, Dayton, Duquesne, Fordham, George Mason, George <span data-shortcode=" data-canon="Washington Huskies" data-type="SPORTS_OBJECT_TEAM" id="shortcode0">, La Salle, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Richmond, St. Bonaventure, Saint Joseph's, Saint Louis and VCU

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories