Elvin Hayes, Gene Keady headline college basketball HOF inductees

Gene Keady went 512-270 in a quarter-century at Purdue. (USATSI)
Gene Keady went 512-270 in the quarter-century he spent at Purdue. (USATSI)

The class of 2013 for the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame, revealed Monday, includes a few names any true college hoops wonk will recognize.

Leading the list is Elvin Hayes, who played at Houston in the 1960s and remains the school's all-time leading scorer (2,884) and rebounder (1,602). The Cougars went 81-12 during his time there, from 1965-68, and reached the Final Four in his junior and senior seasons. Hayes, who was the National Player of the Year in 1968, also played in the "Game of the Century" at the Houston Astrodome, where Houston ended UCLA's 47-game winning streak under the legendary John Wooden. Hayes had 39 points and 15 snares in the win.

Also slated for induction is Xavier McDaniel, the "X-Man," who played for Wichita State from 1981-85. He was the first player in college hoops history to lead the nation in scoring (27.2) and rebounding (14.8).

The Class of 2013 also includes Marques Johnson, who led the Bruins to their final title under Wooden in 1975, when he was also National Player of the Year; Tom McMillen, who averaged 21 points and 10 rebounds for Maryland in the '70s; and Grambling's Bob Hopkins, who averaged 30 points and 17 rebounds from 1953-56.

The unique inclusion to this year's class: The 1963 Loyola (Chicago) Ramblers. That team won a national title over Cincinnati amid controversial times, specifically because of segregation. Loyola had four starters who were black, a first in NCAA title-game history. The team won it all on Vic Rouse's buzzer-beater in overtime.

As for coaches, legendary Purdue poobah Gene Keady and Villanova's Rollie Massimino -- who won a national title with the No. 8-seeded Wildcats in 1985 -- will be inducted. Keady coached 25 years at Purdue, winning more games there than any other Boilermakers basketball coach. He was National Coach of the Year four times: 1984, 1995, 1996 and 2000. Massimino won 357 games at Villanova and also coached at Stony Brook, UNLV and Cleveland State. He is now coach at Northwood University (Fla.).

Two contributors made the cut: Nike's George Raveling (who coached at Washington State and USC, making NCAA tourneys in the process) and George Killian, known for his work in the International Basketball Federation.

The ceremony will take place Sunday, Nov. 24. A ceremony prior to the annual CBE Classic at the Sprint Center in Kansas City will also be in order. A coincidence would have it, Wichita State will take part in the event this year, so expect McDaniel to have quite the reception.

CBS Sports Writer

Matt Norlander is a national award-winning writer who has been with CBS Sports since 2010. He's in his seventh season covering college basketball for CBS, and also covers the NBA Draft, the Olympics and... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories