Finalists named for three USBWA awards

On Thursday afternoon, the United States Basketball Writers Association announced its finalists for the Oscar Robertson Trophy (Player of the Year), Wayman Tisdale Award (Freshman of the Year), and Henry Iba Award (Coach of the Year).

All three awards will be formally presented on Mon., April 14, in Oklahoma City. 

The 15 finalists for Player of the Year honors:

  • Kyle Anderson, UCLA
  • Cameron Bairstow, New Mexico
  • Cleanthony Early, Wichita State
  • Melvin Ejim, Iowa State
  • Tyler Ennis, Syracuse
  • C.J. Fair, Syracuse
  • Nick Johnson, Arizona
  • Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati
  • Doug McDermott, Creighton
  • Shabazz Napier, Connecticut
  • Jabari Parker, Duke
  • Casey Prather, Florida
  • Julius Randle, Kentucky
  • Russ Smith, Louisville
  • Andrew Wiggins, Kansas

Four of those players also appeared on the Freshman of the Year list:

  • Joel Embiid, Kansas
  • Tyler Ennis, Syracuse
  • Aaron Gordon, Arizona
  • Jabari Parker, Duke
  • Julius Randle, Kentucky
  • Andrew Wiggins, Kansas

And there were 10 coaches named to the list of Henry Iba finalists:

  • John Beilein, Michigan
  • Tony Bennett, Virginia
  • Larry Brown, SMU
  • Jim Crews, Saint Louis
  • Mick Cronin, Cincinnati
  • Billy Donovan, Florida
  • Steve Fisher, San Diego State
  • Gregg Marshall, Wichita State
  • Greg McDermott, Creighton
  • Jay Wright, Villanova
Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories