Kansas coach Bill Self elected to Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

Kansas coach Bill Self will be inducted into the Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame this year, a source told CBS Sports on Friday.

The Hall of Fame formally announced the news early Saturday.

Seven-time NBA All-Star Tracy McGrady, former Chicago Bulls executive Jerry Krause, former UConn women’s star Rebecca Lobo, Notre Dame women’s coach Muffet McGraw, former NBA and ABA star George McGinnis, former NCAA vice president Tom Jernstedt, European star Nikos Galis, Texas high school coach Robert Hughes and two Harlem Globetrotters -- Zack Clayton and Mannie Jackson.

Self, 54, has made nine Elite Eights and two Final Fours -- one of which resulted in him winning the 2008 national title when his Jayhawks beat John Calipari’s Memphis Tigers in San Antonio. The Oklahoma State graduate has also won 13 consecutive Big 12 championships. He previously coached at Oral Roberts, Tulsa and Illinois.

CBS Sports Insider

Gary Parrish is an award-winning college basketball columnist and television analyst for CBS Sports who also hosts the highest-rated afternoon drive radio show in Memphis, where he lives with his wife... Full Bio

Our Latest Stories