NEW ORLEANSKansas won the national championship on Monday night with a thrilling 72-69 victory over North Carolina. It is the fourth title for the Jayhawks in ten championship games and the second for coach Bill Self. That ties him with Villanova coach Jay Wright for the most among active coaches.

The four Kansas titles have been spread out in different eras. The 2022 title came 14 years after the championship in 2008. That is the shortest time between championships for the Jayhawks.

Let's take a look at how this team ranks among the four Kansas national champions.

2008 - Kansas def. Memphis 75-68 in OT

Kansas entered the tournament as a No. 1 seed after finishing the regular season 31-3. Despite that, the Jayhawks were fourth in the final regular-season AP poll. They were part of the only NCAA Tournament in which all four No. 1 seeds made the Final Four. Kansas beat Memphis in overtime after a last second Mario Chalmers 3-pointer tied the game at the end of regulation. Kansas had seven future NBA players on that team, including all five starters. 

1952 - Kansas def. St. John's 80-63:

The 1952 Jayhawks finished the regular season 24-3 and 11-1 in the Big 8. The MOP of the NCAA Tournament that season was Kansas' Clyde Lovellette who averaged 35.3 points per game in the tournament. Lovellette played 11 seasons in the NBA and was a four-time All-Star.

2022 - Kansas def. North Carolina 72-69

The current Jayhawks were 28-6 in the regular season and the No. 1 seed in the South Region. They featured All-American Ochai Agbaji, who was the MOP of the tournament and a likely first-round draft pick in the upcoming NBA draft. 

1988 - Kansas def. Oklahoma 83-79

This is arguably the most memorable of the Kansas championship team. Nicknamed Danny and the Miracles, the No. 6 seed Jayhawks made an unlikely run to a title behind the play of Danny Manning, who averaged 27.2 points per game. Manning had a 15-year NBA career and Kevin Pritchard also spent some time in the NBA. This is still the only No. 6 seed to win the NCAA Tournament.

Kansas Jayhawks championship gear released

In historic fashion, the Jayhawks have won their first national title since 2008. You can now buy Kansas championship shirts, hats, jerseys, hoodies, and much more to celebrate the historic win. Get gear here now.

We may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.