The Champions Classic will keep on through 2019 at the very least. USATSI

The Champions Classic, an annual four-team event that helps launch the start of the college basketball season, has been extended through 2019.

Announcements were made Wednesday. As always, Kentucky, Duke, Michigan State and Kansas are the four programs who will participate. The event was launched in 2011 and has become a staple of the first Tuesday of the sport's regular season. New York City's Madison Square Garden, which was the inaugural host, will get that honor again later this year; Chicago (2017), Indianapolis (2018) and New York City (2019) are locked in for the next three seasons.

How good is the event? The blue bloods involved speak for themselves. Per ESPN, there have been 31 draft picks who've seen the court at the Champions Classic in the past five seasons. Plenty more probably future NBA picks will be on display in November (Duke: Jayson Tatum and Harry Giles; Kentucky: Bam Adebayo, De'Aaron Fox, Malik Monk; Michigan State: Miles Bridges; Kansas: Josh Jackson).

This year's game will be held on Nov. 15. Here's the schedule in the years ahead as well.

Date Matchups City Arena
Nov. 15, 2016 Michigan State vs. Kentucky; Duke vs. Kansas New York Madison Square Garden
Nov. 14, 2017 Kansas vs. Kentucky; Duke vs. Michigan State Chicago United Center
Nov. 13, 2018 Duke vs. Kentucky; Michigan State vs. Kansas Indianapolis Bankers Life Fieldhouse
Nov. 12, 2019 Michigan State vs. Kentucky; Kansas vs. Duke New York Madison Square Garden

Overall record for each team in the Champions Classic:

Duke 3-2
Kentucky 3-2
Michigan State 3-2
Kansas 1-4

Duke is the anticipated No. 1 team heading into the season, with Kentucky No. 2 and MSU and Kansas both in the top 10.