Kentucky big man Oscar Tshiebwe continued his strong run through the postseason awards circuit on Sunday, when he was named Naismith Player of the Year after a standout junior year with the Wildcats. Tshiebwe averaged 17.4 points and 15.2 rebounds for UK in his first season after transferring from West Virginia midway through the 2020-21 campaign.

Tshiebwe is just Kentucky's second-ever recipient of the Naismith Trophy, joining Anthony Davis, who won the award in 2012. This year's other finalists were Ochai Agbaji from Kansas, Johnny Davis from Wisconsin and Keegan Murray from Iowa.

Though Kentucky's season ended in disappointing fashion with a first round NCAA Tournament loss to No. 15 seed Saint Peter's, Tshiebwe managed to be a bright spot even in a bleak moment for his team. The 6-foot-9 bruiser finished with 30 points and 16 rebounds against the Peacocks to close the season with 16 straight double-doubles. That was the longest streak in Kentucky history. His total of 28 double-doubles also marked a program record.

In addition to the Naismith Award, Tshiebwe was also named CBS Sports Player of the Year and has now totaled five NCAA-recognized player of the year awards. Tshiebwe wasn't the only SEC big man to pick up a Naismith Award on Sunday. Auburn center Walker Kessler earned the Naismith Defensive Player of the Year award after blocking 4.6 shots per game as a sophomore for the Tigers.

Ed Cooley of Providence won Naismith Coach of the Year after leading the Friars to a 27-6 season, Big East regular-season title and a Sweet 16 appearance.

Men's Naismith Player of the Year winners

2021 Oscar Tshiebwe Kentucky
2021Luka GarzaIowa
2020 Obi Toppin Dayton
2019 Zion Williamson Duke
2018 Jalen Brunson Villanova
2017 Frank Mason III Kansas
2016 Buddy Hield Oklahoma
2015 Frank Kaminsky III Wisconsin
2014 Doug McDermott Creighton
2013 Trey Burke Michigan
2012 Anthony Davis Kentucky
2011 Jimmer Fredette BYU
2010 Evan Turner Ohio State
2009 Blake Griffin Oklahoma
2008 Tyler Hansbrough North Carolina
2007 Kevin Durant Texas
2006 J.J. Redick Duke
2005 Andrew Bogut Utah
2004 Jameer Nelson Saint Joseph's
2003 T.J. Ford Texas
2002 Jay Williams Duke
2001 Shane Battier Duke
2000 Kenyon Martin Cincinnati
1999 Elton Brand Duke
1998 Antawn Jamison North Carolina
1997 Tim Duncan Wake Forest
1996 Marcus Camby UMass
1995 Joe Smith Maryland
1994 Glenn Robinson Purdue
1993 Calbert Cheaney Indiana
1992 Christian Laettner Duke
1991 Larry Johnson UNLV
1990 Lionel Simmons LaSalle
1989 Danny Ferry Duke
1988 Danny Manning Kansas
1987 David Robinson Navy
1986 Johnny Dawkins Duke
1985 Patrick Ewing Georgetown
1984 Michael Jordan North Carolina
1983 Ralph Sampson Virginia
1982 Ralph Sampson Virginia
1981 Ralph Sampson Virginia
1980 Mark Aguirre DePaul
1979 Larry Bird Indiana State
1978 Butch Lee Marquette
1977 Marques Johnson UCLA
1976 Scott May Indiana
1975 David Thompson NC State
1974 Bill Walton UCLA
1973 Bill Walton UCLA
1972 Bill Walton UCLA
1971 Austin Carr Notre Dame
1970 Pete Maravich LSU
1969 Lew Alcindor UCLA