Major-conference first teams, players, coaches of the year awards

Billy Donovan, Scottie Wilbekin and Pat Young earned pre-tournament accolades in the SEC. (USATSI)

More NCAA hoops: Tournament bracket | Complete coverage of NCAAs | Latest news

For the sake of having all the awards in one place, and in coordination with unveiling its national awards on Tuesday, let's look at the nine major conference in college basketball and see who earned league prestige.

The info below are league awards as voted on by each conference's coaches. Each league has different criteria for its first team. Kudos to those still sticking by what makes the most sense: five players on a first team.

We've also included freshman, coach and defensive players of the year. In case you missed any of the announcements a couple weeks back, here's who was voted on as best in ther respective conferences.


First Team

Player of the Year: Shabazz Napier, Sr., Connecticut
Sean Kilpatrick, Sr., Cincinnati
Russ Smith, Sr., Louisville
Nic Moore, So., SMU
Montrezl Harrell, So., Louisville

Freshman of the Year: Austin Nichols, Memphis

Defensive Player of the Year: Justin Jackson, Cincinnati

Coach of the Year: Mick Cronin, Cincinnati

Atlantic 10

First Team

Player of the Year: Jordair Jett, Sr., Saint Louis
Chaz Williams, Sr., Massachusetts
Langston Galloway, Sr., Saint Joseph's
Dwayne Evans, Sr., Saint Louis
Treveon Graham, Jr., VCU

Freshmen of the Year: E.C. Matthews, Rhode Island; DeAndre' Bembry, Saint Joseph's<br />

Defensive Player of the Year: Briante Weber, VCU

Coach of the Year: Jim Crews, Saint Louis


First Team

Player of the Year: T.J. Warren, So., N.C. State
Jabari Parker, Fr.. Duke
Marcus Paige, So., North Carolina
C.J. Fair, Sr., Syracuse
K.J. McDaniels, Jr., Clemson

Freshman of the Year: Jabari Parker, Duke

Defensive Player of the Year: K.J. McDaniels, Clemson

Coach of the Year: Tony Bennett, Virginia

Big 12

First Team

Player of the Year: Melvin Ejim, Sr., Iowa State
DeAndre Kane, Sr., Iowa State
Marcus Smart, Sr., <span data-shortcode= State" data-canon="Oklahoma Sooners" data-type="SPORTS_OBJECT_TEAM" id="shortcode0">
Juwan Staten, Jr., West Virginia
Andrew Wiggins, Fr., Kansas

Freshman of the Year: Andrew Wiggins, Kansas

Defensive Player of the Year: Joel Embiid, Kansas

Coach of the Year: Rick Barnes

Big East

First Team

Player of the Year: Doug McDermott, Sr., Creighton
Bryce Cotton, Sr., Providence
Markel Starks, Sr., Georgetown
James Bell, Sr., Villanova
Semaj Christon, So., Xavier
De'Angelo Harrison, Jr., St. John's

Freshman of the Year: Billy Garrett, Jr., DePaul

Defensive Player of the Year: Fuquan Edwin, Seton Hall

Coach of the Year: Jay Wright, Villanova

Big Ten

First Team

Player of the Year: Nik Stauskas, So. Michigan
Gary Harris, So., Michigan State
Roy Devyn Marble, Sr., Iowa
Frank Kaminsky, Jr., Wisconsin
Terran Petteway, So., Nebraska

Freshman of the Year: Noah Vonleh, Indiana

Defensive Player of the Year: Aaron Craft, Ohio State

Coach of the Year: Tim Miles, Nebraska

Mountain West

First Team

Player of the Year: Xavier Thames, San Diego State
Cameron Bairstow, Sr., New Mexico
Deonte Burton, Sr., Nevada
Larry Nance Jr., Jr., Wyoming
Kendall Williams, Sr. New Mexico

Freshman of the Year: Paul Watson, Fresno State

Defensive Player of the Year: Khem Birch, UNLV

Coach of the Year: Steve Fisher, San Diego State


First Team

Player of the Year: Nick Johnson, Jr., Arizona
Jordan Adams, So., UCLA
Kyle Anderson, So., UCLA
Jahii Carson, So., Arizona State
Justin Cobbs, Sr., California
Aaron Gordon, Fr., Arizona
Dwight Powell, Stanford
Chasson Randle, Stanford
Josh Scott, Colorado
Delon Wright, Utah

Freshman of the Year: Aaron Gordon, Kansas

Defensive Player of the Year: Jordan Bachynski, Arizona State

Coach of the Year: Sean Miller, Arizona


First Team

Player of the Year: Scottie Wilbekin, Sr., Florida
Trevor Releford, Sr., Alabama
Casey Prather, Sr., Florida
Julius Randle, Fr., Kentucky
Johnny O’Bryant III, Jr., LSU
Jabari <span data-shortcode=" data-canon="Jabari Brown" data-type="SPORTS_OBJECT_PLAYER" id="shortcode0">, Jr., Missouri
Jordan McRae, Sr., Tennessee
Jarnell Stokes, Jr., Tennessee

Freshman of the Year: Julius Randle, Kentucky

Defensive Player of the Year: Patric Young, Florida

Coach of the Year: Billy Donovan, Florida

CBS Sports Writer

Matt Norlander is a national award-winning senior writer who has been with CBS Sports since 2010. He's in his eighth season covering college basketball for CBS, and also covers the NBA Draft, the Olympics,... Full Bio

Our Latest Stories