Men's basketball committee makes change to board

Latest in hoops: NBA Early Entries | Latest News | Coaching Changes

The NCAA announced on Wednesday a lineup change to the group that determines who makes the men's D-I basketball tournament.

A swap was necessary for the 10-person men's basketball committee due to events that played out last winter.

Former West Coast Conference commish Jamie Zaninovich took a plum job in the Pac-12 -- as deputy commissioner and chief operating officer -- meaning he had to bail on his post on the board. Zaninovich had two years remaining, but a conflict of interests with his new gig meant he had to step down; Stanford/the Pac-12 already has a sitting representative on the board.

So in comes someone else from the WCC: BYU AD Tom Holmoe. He'll take over for Zaninovich's final two years. Holmoe is a BYU grad and former football player who was selected in the 1983 NFL Draft by the San Francisco 49ers. He won three Super Bowls with the team.

"I’m honored to be selected to represent the West Coast Conference and to serve on the NCAA Division I men’s basketball committee,” Holmoe said in a press release. “I appreciate those who have served before me and will do all I can to keep the tournament the wonderful event it has become."

Holmoe also has a background in coaching at the pro and college level, having worked with San Francisco, Stanford and Cal. He's been with BYU since 2001.

"Jamie has been an incredible asset to the men’s basketball committee and to the championship as a whole, and we wish him continued success in the terrific new opportunity he has at the Pac-12,” NCAA Vp for men's basketball Dan Gavitt said. "Tom has a tremendous amount of respect from his colleagues in intercollegiate athletics and is an ideal choice to replace Jamie. We look forward to his significant contributions to the committee and tournament."

This is now the 2014-15 NCAA men's basketball committee:

Chair: Utah State AD Scott Barnes

-- LSU AD Joe Alleva
-- Oklahoma AD Joe Castiglione
-- Michigan State AD Mark Hollis
-- Conference USA associate commissioner Judy MacLeod
-- Creighton AD Bruce Rasmussen
-- Northeastern AD Peter Roby
-- UNC-Asheville AD Janet Cone
-- Stanford AD Bernard Muir
-- BYU AD Tom Holmoe

CBS Sports Writer

Matt Norlander is a national award-winning writer who has been with CBS Sports since 2010. He's in his seventh season covering college basketball for CBS, and also covers the NBA Draft, the Olympics and... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories
    CBS Sports Shop