NCAA announces all men's tourney sites for 2016, 2017, 2018

The tourney is headed back to MSG, in 2017. Brooklyn will also get a shot in 2016. (USATSI)

The NCAA Tournament is officially set for the next four years. We found out Friday night the order of the Final Fours through 2021. Indianapolis (2015, 2021) bookends a cycle that will also include Houston (2016), Phoenix (2017), San Antonio (2018), Minneapolis (2019) and Atlanta (2020).

Now we know where the first and second weekend sites will be for the NCAA Tournaments of 2016, 2017 and 2018. The formal announcements were made Monday afternoon.

For 2016: Brooklyn and Des Moines, two spots that have never hosted NCAA Tournament games, will get their first opportunity. Other cities getting nods for the first weekend in 2016: Providence, St. Louis, Raleigh, Oklahoma City, Denver and Spokane. The regionals that year (Sweet 16 and Elite Eight) will be played in Philadelphia, Chicago, Louisville and Anaheim.

For 2017: Buffalo, Greensboro, Indianapolis, Milwaukee, Orlando, Tulsa, Sacramento, Salt Lake City and Indianapolis get first-weekend duties. For the regionals, Kansas City, San Jose, Memphis and New York City (Madison Square Garden). I wrote previously how obvious a call this is. Put the thing in MSG as often as possible.

For 2018: Wichita hasn't hosted an NCAA Tournament game since ... 1994. But it will in 2018. Other cities on the list: Charlotte, Pittsburgh, Detroit, Nashville, Dallas, Boise and San Diego. The Sweet 16/Elite Eight games that year will be in Boston, Omaha, Los Angeles and Atlanta.

Best of all? No domes until the Final Four. Absolutely the way to go here.

“This is a national tournament and the sites selected by the committee being spread out geographically reflect that fact,” NCAA vice president for men's basketball Dan Gavitt said. “It’s also worth noting that the dozen regional sites chosen for this bid cycle do not include any domed venues, which emphasizes our commitment to not necessarily using future Final Four venues as regional sites.”

The NCAA also announced the First Four will remain in Dayton through 2018. Thankfully, the term "second round" when talking about the Round of 64 is going the way of the dodo. The NCAA voted to once again refer to the Round of 64 as the "first round" beginning in 2016.

"The purpose of referring to those games as the second and third rounds was to sway people to use first round or better yet First Four when referencing the games in Dayton,” Gavitt said. "No one in our membership was fond of ‘play-in’ games because of the implication that you had to win those games to make the tournament, which couldn’t be further from the truth. People now understand the First Four is the start of the tournament, so it will continue to be branded as such, and the weekend games will now go back to being the first two rounds.”

As for the 2015 NCAA Tournament, Jacksonville, Louisville, Pittsburgh, Charlotte, Columbus, Omaha, Seattle and Portland will host for the first weekend. The regionals will be held in Cleveland, Los Angeles, Syracuse and Houston.

For a clean look at the sites for the NCAAs for 2016-2018, take a gander. And start saving up for tickets/vacation now.

March 15-16 Dayton First Four Dayton, Ohio UD Arena
March 17, 19 Providence First, Second Providence, R.I. Dunkin Donuts Center
March 17, 19 Iowa State First, Second Des Moines, Iowa Wells Fargo Arena
March 17, 19 NC State First, Second Raleigh, N.C. PNC Arena
March 17, 19 Mountain West First, Second Denver Pepsi Coliseum
March 18, 20 Atlantic 10 First, Second Brooklyn, N.Y. Barclays Center
March 18, 20 Missouri Valley First, Second St. Louis Scottrade Center
March 18, 20 Big 12 First, Second Oklahoma City Chesapeake Energy Arena
March 18, 20 Idaho First, Second Spokane, Wash. Spokane Veterans Memorial Arena
March 24, 26 Big West West Regional Anaheim, Calif. Honda Center
March 24, 26 Louisville South Regional Louisville, Ky. KFC YUM! Center
March 25, 27 Big Ten Midwest Regional Chicago United Center
March 25, 27 LaSalle East Regional Philadelphia, PA Wells Fargo Center


March 14, 15 Dayton First Four Dayton, Ohio UD Arena
March 16, 18 MAAC First, Second Buffalo, N.Y. First Niagara Center
March 16, 18 Marquette First, Second Milwaukee BMO Harris Bradley Center
March 16, 18 UCF, Stetson First, Second Orlando, Fla. Amway Center
March 16, 18 Utah First, Second Salt Lake City EnergySolutions Arena
March 17, 19 ACC First, Second Greensboro, N.C. Greensboro Coliseum
March 17, 19 Horizon, IUPUI First, Second Indianapolis Bankers Life Fieldhouse
March 17, 19 Tulsa First, Second Tulsa, Okla. BOK Center
March 17, 19 CSU Sacramento First, Second Sacramento, Calif. Entertainment and Sports Center
March 23, 25 Big 12 Midwest Regional Kansas City Sprint Center
March 23,25 Pac-12 West Regional San Jose, Calif. SAP Center
March 24, 26 Memphis South Regional Memphis, Tenn. FedExForum
March 24, 26 St. John's, Big East East Regional New York Madison Square Garden


March 13-14 Dayton First Four Dayton, Ohio UD Arena
March 15, 17 Duquesne First, Second Pittsburgh CONSOL Energy Center
March 15, 17 Wichita State, MVC First, Second Wichita, Kan. Intrust Bank Arena
March 15, 17 Big 12 First, Second Dallas American Airlines Center
March 15, 17 Boise State First, Second Boise, Idaho Taco Bell Arena
March 16, 18 UNC Charlotte First, Second Charlotte, N.C. Time Warner Cable Arena
March 16, 18 Detroit, Mercy First, Second Detroit New Detroit Arena
March 16, 18 Ohio Valley First, Second Nashville, Tenn. Bridgestone Arena
March 16, 18 San Diego State First, Second San Diego Viejas Arena
March 22, 24 Georgia Tech South Regional Atlanta Philips Arena
March 22, 24 Pepperdine West Regional Los Angeles Staples Center
March 23, 25 Boston College East Regional Boston TD Garden
March 23, 25 Creighton Midwest Regional Omaha, Neb. CenturyLink Center
CBS Sports Writer

Matt Norlander is a national award-winning senior writer who has been with CBS Sports since 2010. He's in his eighth season covering college basketball for CBS, and also covers the NBA Draft, the Olympics,... Full Bio

Our Latest Stories