Preseason Wooden Award watch list released

Duke's Jahlil Okafor is one of 50 players on the Wooden Watch List. (USATSI)
Duke's Jahlil Okafor is one of 50 players on the Wooden Watch List. (USATSI)

The John R. Wooden Award is given each year to the most outstanding player in college basketball, as named by a committee of expert voters. Past winners include Trey Burke, Anthony Davis, Jimmer Fredette and last year's recipient, Doug McDermott. 

The voting committee released their preseason watch list for the 2015 iteration of the award today. It features names such as Jahlil Okafor, Frank Kaminsky, Marcus Paige and Fred VanVleet. There are four players from both Kentucky and Kansas -- who happen to play on Tuesday -- three from Arizona, and two each from Wisconsin, Wichita State, Duke, Louisville and Texas.

Overall, the committee has done a good job with this list, featuring 42 of the 50 players in the CBSSports Top 100. The highest rated player on our preseason top 100 list to miss out was Justise Winslow, who came into our list at 19th. Given that he's a defensively-oriented freshman in the shadow of a stacked Duke team, I think that's a pretty fair choice as their highest-rated snub.

The full list is included here:

Cliff Alexander, Kansas 
Brandon Ashley, Arizona 
Ron Baker, Wichita State 
Ryan Boatright, UConn 
Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia 
Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky
Branden Dawson, Michigan State 
Sam Dekker, Wisconsin 
Perry Ellis, Kansas 
Yogi Ferrell, Indiana 
Marcus Foster, Kansas State 
Michael Frazier II, Florida 
Treveon Graham, VCU 
Jerian Grant, Notre Dame 
Olivier Hanlan, Boston College
Montrezl Harrell, Louisville 
Aaron Harrison, Kentucky 
Andrew Harrison, Kentucky
Tyler Haws, BYU 
Buddy Hield, Oklahoma 
Rondae Hollis-Jefferson, Arizona 
R.J. Hunter, Georgia State 
Stanley Johnson, Arizona
Tyus Jones, Duke
Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin 
Caris LeVert, Michigan 
Jordan Mickey, LSU 
Nic Moore, SMU
Georges Niang, Iowa State
Jahlil Okafor, Duke 
Kelly Oubre, Jr., Kansas 
Marcus Paige, North Carolina 
Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga
Terran Petteway, Nebraska 
Bobby Portis, Arkansas 
Chasson Randle, Stanford 
Terry Rozier, Louisville
Wesley Saunders, Harvard
Josh Scott, Colorado
Wayne Selden, Jr., Kansas 
D’Vauntes Smith-Rivera, Georgetown
Juwan Staten, West Virginia
Keifer Sykes, Green Bay 
Isaiah Taylor, Texas 
Karl-Anthony Towns, Kentucky 
Myles Turner, Texas 
Fred VanVleet, Wichita State 
Dez Wells, Maryland 
Delon Wright, Utah 
Joseph Young, Oregon

Our Latest Stories