Wisconsin-Milwaukee banned from 2015 postseason due to APR

Wisconsin-Milwaukee will not be eligible to compete in the postseason next season.

The school announced Wednesday evening that the NCAA denied the school's appeal on its Academic Performance Rate (APR). This is the same ruling that prevented Connecticut from playing in the 2013 postseason. A handful of schools are affected each year for failing to retain and/or graduate players over a four-year period in years prior. This penalty is based off the APR from 2009-10 through 2012-13.

Milwaukee's most recent aggregate score was 908, falling below the bar of 930. The bar was previously at 900.

"The academic success of our student-athletes will always be the top priority in the Milwaukee athletic department," Milwaukee athletic director Amanda Braun said in a statement. "We are aware that problems did occur in the past, but we have faced them and made changes and are accepting the consequences from the NCAA. Well before we even started the appeals process, we began implementing new processes to help all of our student-athletes have more success in the classroom."

The statement also notes next season will see Milwaukee's team sub in four hours of "academic activities" where practice would normally take place.

"I am very proud of the steps that we have taken in regards to the APR score," coach Rob Jeter said. "The quality of the student-athletes in our program cannot be stressed enough and we are fully committed to supporting them."

So the Panthers will miss out on both the Horizon League tournament next season and the NCAA Tournament.

CBS Sports Writer

Matt Norlander is a national award-winning writer who has been with CBS Sports since 2010. He's in his seventh season covering college basketball for CBS, and also covers the NBA Draft, the Olympics and... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories