2012 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award finalists

Geno Smith s one of 15 finalists for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award. (US Presswire)

The list of candidates for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award -- awarded on Dec. 7 -- has been narrowed down from the original 29 to 15. 

Those 15 finalists are:

- Matt Barkley , Southern California Trojans

- Tajh Boyd , Clemson Tigers

- Mike Glennon , NC State Wolfpack

- Landry Jones , Oklahoma Sooners

- Collin Klein , Kansas State Wildcats

- EJ Manuel , Florida State Seminoles

- AJ McCarron , Alabama Crimson Tide

- Bryn Renner , North Carolina Tar Heels

- Denard Robinson , Michigan Wolverines

- Geno Smith , West Virginia Mountaineers

- Tyler Tettleton , Ohio Bobcats

- Logan Thomas , Virginia Tech Hokies

- Tyler Wilson , Arkansas Razorbacks

According to the official release, the award goes to the quarterback who "encapsulates all that is positive in college sports by going beyond completion percentage and touchdowns to also value character, citizenship, integrity, and those who honor the game."

Since the award goes beyond "completion percentage and touchdowns," that explains why Denard Robinson, who has completed 54 percent of his passes and thrown more interceptions (eight) than touchdowns (seven), would be a finalist for something called the "Golden Arm Award."

CBS Sports Writer

Tom Fornelli has been a college football writer at CBS Sports since 2010. During his time at CBS, Tom has proven time and again that he hates your favorite team and thinks your rival is a paragon of football... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories