2012 Paul Hornung Award watch list released

Clemson's Sammy Watkins is one of 49 players on the Paul Hornung Award watch list (US Presswire)

The watch lists have arrived in college football. The annual individual awards given at the end of the season will be rolling out their initial lists over the next couple weeks, and college football fans get their first round of debatable distinctions for 2012.

The Paul Hornung Award is a new postseason award, as 2012 will be only the third year in which it's given out. The award goes to the "most versatile player in major college football." This season the award names 49 players to keep your eyes on.

2012 Paul Hornung Award watch list

Jared Abbrederis , Wisconsin Badgers
Ameer Abdullah , Nebraska Cornhuskers
Keenan Allen , California Golden Bears
Tavon Austin , West Virginia Mountaineers " data-canon="Virginia Cavaliers" data-type="SPORTS_OBJECT_TEAM" id="shortcode0">
Kenjon Barner , Oregon Ducks
Johnthan Banks , Mississippi State Bulldogs State" data-canon="Ole Miss Rebels" data-type="SPORTS_OBJECT_TEAM" id="shortcode0">
D.J. Beshears , Kansas Jayhawks
Matt Brown , Temple
Chad Bumphis , Mississippi State
Trey Burton , Florida Gators
Adrian Bushell , Louisville Cardinals
Jesse Callier , Washington Huskies
Michael Campanaro , Wake Forest Demon Deacons
Brandon Carter , TCU Horned Frogs
Tommy Davis , Illinois Fighting Illini
Quandre Diggs , Texas Longhorns
Jerry "BooBoo" Gates, Bowling Green Falcons
Justin Gilbert , Oklahoma State Cowboys
Jordan Hall , Ohio State Buckeyes
Dustin Harris , Texas A&M
Terry Hawthorne , Illinois
Dennis Johnson , Arkansas Razorbacks
Chandler Jones , San Jose State Spartans
Perry Jones , Virginia
Tracy Lampley , Southern Mississippi Golden Eagles
Marqise Lee , Southern California Trojans
Josh Lenz , Iowa State Cyclones
Venric Mark , Northwestern Wildcats
Onterio McCalebb , Auburn Tigers
Quincy McDuffie , Central Florida
Tyrann Mathieu , LSU Tigers
Jamal Miles , Arizona State Sun Devils
T.J. Moe , Missouri Tigers
Ty Montgomery , Stanford Cardinal
Warren Norman , Vanderbilt Commodores
Jordan Poyer , Oregon State Beavers
Theo Riddick , Notre Dame Fighting Irish
Nickell Robey-Coleman , Southern California
Ace Sanders , South Carolina Gamecocks
Jeff Scott , Mississippi
Branden Smith , Georgia Bulldogs
Orwin Smith , Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets
Darryl Surgent , Louisiana-Lafayette
De'Anthony Thomas , Oregon
Justin Veltung , Idaho Vandals
Sammy Watkins , Clemson Tigers
Trey Watts , Tulsa Golden Hurricane
Kerwynn Williams , Utah State Aggies
Robert Woods , Southern California

Paul Hornung Award watch list by conference

SEC 12
Pac 12 10
Big Ten 6
Big 12 6
Big East 2
Sun Belt 1
Independent 1

CBS Sports Writer

Tom Fornelli has been a college football writer at CBS Sports since 2010. During his time at CBS, Tom has proven time and again that he hates your favorite team and thinks your rival is a paragon of football... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories